top of page

Maze Run with AJ Part 1


As promised we have a sit down with Aaron "AJ" Jones. He is the #1 QB prospect coming out of high school. You should already know he is from Temple TX (if not check out the article from yesterday). Today we hear from the young man himself on his thoughts on a variety of topics. Most college coaches have had their eye on him but non have been able to actually talk to him yet and they will soon. I have seen him on TV at a few games on Saturday and on Sunday.

MR: How goes it AJ?

AJ: It goes

MR: I can call you AJ? Right?

AJ: Yeah sure, everyone does already. Ha Ha Ha

MR: What would you prefer?

AJ: AJ is fine.

MR: Okay great. Now that we have that out of the way, lets talk football first.

AJ: Sure thing, I like that idea.

MR: Do you think you are the #1 QB in the country coming out of high school this year?

AJ: Yes I do. I am confident in my skills and what I am able to do on the football field to help my team win. I know the amount of work that goes into getting ready to play on game day.

MR: Now you do realize some will say this kid is arrogant saying that he is the #1 QB in the country?

AJ: Yeah I do, but I did not come up with the rankings. The ranking was just thrust on to me. Even if I was not ranked #1 I would still think I am #1 because I believe in myself and what I can do. And I know things will be very different once I get to college, I will have to prepare different and do more work in order to prove to everyone that I am the #1 QB.

MR: I bet coaches will love to hear that. Coaches love a guy who loves football and all that comes with it. Now did you always want to play football and more specifically QB?

AJ: Football was not my first love. I know this will sound weird being that I am from Texas, but my first love was soccer. I remember watching Zidane play and thought, WOW. I wanted to be Zidane, for me he is one of the greats. I know most kids these days will say Messi or Ronaldo but for me it will always be Zidane. Don't get me wrong those guys are great too but Zidane is just my cup of tea and he seems to have this coaching thing down too. 3 Champions Leagues in 4 years, that's impressive.

With regards to wanting to be a QB, once I started playing football I knew I wanted to be a QB. I always thought it was the closest thing to Zidane who was a midfielder. You would control everything on the field. You would be a field general. Zidane had vision for a pass and I think I have vision for one too. Zidane knew when to throw in a hard tackle and I think I can get physical when I run the ball a bit. Zidane also knows how to win and I think I know how to win as well. Zidane made everyone around him look good and that is one of my objectives as well, make my WRs look good along with all the other players.

MR: Now the question is do you have a temper like Zidane? Coaches will want a cool head on the field.

AJ: That is one thing I do not have in common with Zidane. I try to keep cool on the field because if my head goes then that increases the chances we lose the game. I am more Pirlo when it comes to my head. Always cool and never fazed, he once said he spent the day playing FIFA n the hotel room before the world cup final and went out and won it. No Pirlo, no Party, No cool head, No win.

MR: You do like your soccer.

AJ: Yes I do.

MR: Some people have said you will need time to learn a new system once you get to the next level and you won't be able to start immediately. What do you think?

AJ: They are right, I will need to learn a new playbook, whatever it is. It will be at a different school so that is only natural. I have been exposed to a few formations already and I think I can pick up any formation or playbook. I have had to run a few in high school and I am always asking my coaches to teach me a few things about all the formations.

I am not too worried about learning new things. You should always strive to learn something new everyday. I try to learn new formations everyday along with mastering the ones I run on a consistent basis.

Not being a starter immediately will not be a problem but what I will do is compete for the job as soon as I get on campus. If I do not get the job then I will try to pick the brains of the guys ahead of me in the packing order. Everyone you meet knows something you don't know so always pay attention. I will ask the coaches and fellow players questions because I want to improve myself as a QB and as a human being.

MR: It seems like you have had some media training

AJ: No sir, Ha Ha Ha

MR: Okay great, coaches will love you if what you say it true.

AJ: All true, sir.

MR: Okay great. Now there have been a few people who have questioned your mental strength. They say you might need extra help with classes. What do you say to that?

AJ: They are correct. There are some classes I struggle with and this can be seen in my GPA. I sort out tutoring so that I can improve in those classes and it has helped me a great deal. I know at college if I mess around I will not be eligible to play if my GPA is below a certain threshold. I already have a plan to mitigate that. I will be seeking tutoring in the classes I know I will struggle in. I am not ashamed to seek help in areas I am not good in. I have other areas of interest and I know there is life after football. Taking classes that will help me after football is key for me.

I enjoy working with numbers and I will be a math major as well as a QB.

MR: Did I hear you correct, you said math major?

AJ: Yes sir. Ha Ha Ha

MR: I do not know anything about Calculus. It is the devil in my book.

AJ: Ha Ha Ha...

Most people think that but to me it is beautiful. Math as a whole is the most beautiful subject there is. It makes the world go round. It forces you to think critically and work your way through whatever you are given until you reach a solution.

This is similar to what I do as a QB.

MR: You have to explain.

AJ: Think of it this way. You are at the line of scrimmage and you have all your guys lined up. You see what the defense is giving you, you know your objective is to get 10 yards. You make all the necessary adjustments to your guys so that they line up correctly, so that you have enough time to get the ball out of your hands and into the hands of someone else who will help you get those 10 yards. In math you always start with the given information and the problem, you then take that information and use it to solve the problem. You will use all the pertinent formulas to solve the problem.

MR: I kinda get it. Now lets switch gears. What school do you want to go to?

AJ: I have not made that decision yet. I am just waiting to hear from all the schools in the country. I do not have a favorite school or program. I just want to get the best education and also opportunity to play football. I just want to be in a situation were I will help my team win.

MR: Okay, so you do not want to give us an exclusive?

AJ: Ha Ha Ha..., not today.

MR: Okay, lets try this a different way. All throw teams or somewhat balanced teams?

AJ: Does not matter. I just want to be in a situation were I can help my team win.

MR: Very political of you. Do you have plans for the Pros?

AJ: Yeah like most kids I do want to play in the NFL with the best players in the sport. That will take time for me to get ready. I plan on staying in college for a while until I am ready.

I hope you enjoyed the first part of my sit down with the #1 QB. Be sure to check in tomorrow for part 2. Remember to send you Bud Awards vote to me. Until the next time, take it easy.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page