top of page

phimutau Maze


Everyone likes to work whilst they sit so at the Maze we decided to do that with phimutau. Legendary coach who surprised the Maze by accepting to do the sit down with a low level outfit like ours. We have not been on our game lately but we will try our best to get back to it. Hopefully everyone will enjoy our sit down.

huskerfan26

Hey phim curious if you want to do a little interview to kind of walk through why you are leaving your program and moving up among many other things

phimutau

Sure

I’m at little league ball games until about 9pm central

I can respond on here as I can though

I’m just taking money at the gate

huskerfan26

I was thinking we could just do it here with me asking questions and we go back and forth

phimutau

No prob

huskerfan26

Okay great

Let me start by saying, thanks for doing this.

What are your thoughts on the season?

phimutau

Really disappointed actually. I was trying to break dukelegends record for most passing yards in Wilk D1AA history. I came up 180 yards short. Had I made it to the semis or natty I would have destroyed it

I really felt I had a national championship team this year.

My QB was right in line with my previous title winning qbs

But I had some shortcomings in recruiting and didn’t quite put the team around him he needed

Plus it’s very hard to beat a team three times in one year. Especially a good coach like schoolywe

huskerfan26

You had a #14 GUESS roster which is impressive. I have known through the season not to bet against you

Beating a team twice in one season is usually hard for me, but getting beaten twice is easy

phimutau

My receiving core was my weak link. They just weren’t as good as the past championship WRs

I had two Sr and two So that were rated 77 OVR. When I win the titles I had WR ranked in the 80’s

huskerfan26

The WRs and RBs were still impressive but I think schoolywe figured out something

Is he the one you would put your money on to win it all now?

phimutau

He has a very good chance. I have my own ratings system. And he is second behind Northern Iowa as far as starters rankings. But all 4 coaches that are left are outstanding and any of them could win it.

But my money is still on the three time champ

I think I helped motivate his run by beating him in my two title wins lol

huskerfan26

I'm sure he is glad not to see you again

phimutau

He’s the scary one now. Anytime you have three trophies sitting behind you, it’s intimidating

Three consecutive*

huskerfan26

That's the truth right there

During the play-offs is there ever a coach you might meet and you think oh no?

I have a long list of coaches I do not want to face

phimutau

Sorry got stuck in concession stand.

huskerfan26

That's okay

phimutau

Well a lot of those coaches that really scared me moved up to D1A. After I won a couple of titles and beat Orangepace three years in a row in the playoffs I kinda felt like a big kid on the block. I don’t ever get overconfident though, I will gameplan my butt off for anyone, but the fear subsided after I got a couple under my belt.

huskerfan26

So you do not just set a plan and let it ride on either side of the ball?

phimutau

Not when I face a coach. I study his user games and try to adjust accordingly. Now when I had a team that I knew wasn’t a contender, I did have a tendency to tune out and run the set and forget system.

huskerfan26

That is good to know. Note to self, study your opponent

phimutau

That’s the problem with finally getting a couple titles. You know the formula for a championship and you know when you don’t have it. Those years you don’t have it kinda drag out.

huskerfan26

I am yet to figure out what the formula is and will be working towards trying to figure out what my formula is

Do you think there is only one formula?

phimutau

Last year I set it and didn’t pay much attention to it until the playoffs. I knew we were paper tigers

huskerfan26

Paper Tigers with a CC

Still a nice trophy but I guess once Tigers are used to NCs, CCs do not cut it anymore

phimutau

I felt good about this team in 142, but was a little worried about he defense and the WRs

huskerfan26

The WRs were decent for a deep run when I looked at them, but then again my standards are not NC level standards

Do you always set your teams to make deep runs every season or is it more of every other year?

phimutau

I’ll have to get back in a little bit, some games just ended and we are getting swamped.

huskerfan26

That's okay

phimutau

I set up my team to take three skill positions on offense and redshirt them, then recruit the rest defense. The following year I take a DL, LB, and DB and redshirt them and recruit the rest on offense. That way, my redshirted kids will always be playing with SRs their 5th year.

Gives me a real good team IQ on my SR led side of the ball. Which in turn always makes me competitive. You could always count on the Bobcats being in the mix and I think my class structure really helped they

That*

huskerfan26

I might need to incorporate that in my plans. So I'm guessing you do not like unbalanced classes

I try to RS guys as well but it's random for me for the other two positions. QBs are always RS

phimutau

I’ll just send you a pic of it. Just a sec

phimutau

11, 11, 12, 13. That makes 47 because you will always have 3 redshirted from previous year

huskerfan26

I need to step my game up

That's an impressive spreadsheet

phimutau

At least that’s how I made it work. I want to try to keep this going at D1A but it will be tough since it takes s while to structure your classes

And you can get fired while trying to build

That’s just the tip of the iceberg lol

huskerfan26

I have tried to structure classes but it's tough

Have you decided what schools you want to pick up?

phimutau

huskerfan26

This is now scaring me

I have nothing close to that

phimutau

I’m very partial to Texas schools. So I’m wanting to stay here since I’m so familiar with this area. If truedevil leaves I’m definitely putting in for Houston. However, I kinda want to rebuild SMU.

I have a team page like that for all 120 schools lol

huskerfan26

That's an impressive spreadsheet. Will need to talk off the record.

phimutau

I just finished building a D1A spreadsheet tool as well. It took me FOREVER!!!!

huskerfan26

Texas schools are good. There's usually enough talent to go around

I can only imagine how much work it took

phimutau

I just finished building a D1A spreadsheet tool as well. It took me FOREVER!!!!

phimutau

Oh I forget to mention earlier that I screwed my class up by forgetting to redshirt my RB and WR this season. That’s really what pushed me over the edge on leaving.

huskerfan26

I worked on a lil spreadsheet for recruiting, trying to figure out how to get it done. But it was nothing like this

phimutau

I was already leaning towards leaving and after that happened I was done here.

I lobe column A in this tool. It ranks every player in D1AA against their respective position

Love* not lobe

huskerfan26

On the leaving front, truedevil always says he's leaving but never does

Does Baylor have a coach and would you consider them?

phimutau

I’m afraid to jump into a BCS conference. It takes me a while to get things built. So I would get fired before I could get it structured.

That’s goal #1 for me. Class structure. It’s like a solid foundation. I’m a loyalist. See 31 years at last school. So once I land somewhere I’m not leaving

huskerfan26

Makes sense

Have to have a great philosophy and stick to it

phimutau

I learned all of this from Pete.

huskerfan26

What a guy to learn from

phimutau

You have to think long term if you want to take this approach.

Job hopping is not an option if you want to really put your dna into a team.

Shit that sounded dirty lol

It’s gonna be hard to watch someone unravel what I’ve built though

huskerfan26

Lol

phimutau

But I already started it by forgetting to RS those two guys

My dream job is A&M in the SEC. I can’t take them as long as they are still Big 12

huskerfan26

I say you take Baylor and turn the BIG XII into a powerhouse conference more than it is

I have coaches the Aggies in the BIG XII lot of fun

phimutau

It’s tempting but I’m really scared of getting fired lol

huskerfan26

You won't get fired

You are too good

phimutau

I had a good formula for D1AA recruiting. I’m gonna be out of my element in D1A

That’s what worries me the most

Thanks man.

huskerfan26

I will not lie but D1A recruiting is exactly the same as D1AA

phimutau

132 miles from Texas State to Baylor. Hmmm would be interesting for sure

huskerfan26

Baylor gets my vote

phimutau

Never even considered it, but now you’ve got my wheels turning. I’m gonna definitely do my research and try to find s team that can get to my TX St class structure the fastest.

huskerfan26

I'm here to help

phimutau

I like building my own too

They’ve been sim a while

huskerfan26

Building teams is always fun so I get it

I like building at D1AA

phimutau

I will definitely miss the playoffs

The lack of content also drove me out. D1AA media pretty much became a ghost town. Every article and slack chat topic was always D1A. That also pushed me to leave.

I just want to give the highest level a shot.

huskerfan26

Playoffs are always interesting

phimutau

I will say I’ll be ok, but doubt I make any big waves.

huskerfan26

I say you will be making tsunamis

phimutau

Lol

huskerfan26

Quality coaching always works

And along with your recruiting skills you will be a problem for many

phimutau

I hope you’re right. I’ll give it my all no matter what.

huskerfan26

If you pick up a mid major I see you being on par with Troy State and they are making tsunamis

Did he factor into your decision at all?

His work

phimutau

I think I’d be more comfortable doing that, but we will see. I’m definitely looking forward to Thursday.

All the big time coaches that have done well with mid majors have enticed me. Pete at Hawaii, mcbethbr at Troy St, ebel at Houston. Those are the first that come to my mind.

So I know it’s possible, I just have to learn how to recruit at that level. I’ll be doing some research for sure

huskerfan26

I think with your recruiting spreadsheet you will be able to dominate recruiting

phimutau

I know there’s a lot of luck involved, but I’m still wondering how I was able to pull in a few single digit ranked classes for a few years and then seemingly forget how to do it.

huskerfan26

You think the competition caught up?

phimutau

I had a stretch of 6th, 9th, and 7th and those really helped me get my two titles

I know for sure that Texas Tech being occupied really hurt me.

huskerfan26

I bet on level footing you give them a good running

phimutau

I had a nice pool of players I could get out West that no other D1AA school was close to. I was pulling in some great talent out there. That all came to a hault when Texas Tech got a coach in 137

First it was slicknick and then darryljones, they both took some great green kids from me that I used to get with ease.

huskerfan26

I remember slicknick

Darryl Jones is a good coach. Fully expect great things from him

phimutau

Yep. He’s very active in this chat too lol

huskerfan26

He's active everywhere

phimutau

I don’t know how these guys have multiple teams. I have to put all my focus in one. I tried having multiple with my other ID and it was just too much and I think both teams suffered

huskerfan26

I have a few teams and they are mediocre

Though I feel like it allows me to experiment more

Not sure if the experimenting is working

phimutau

That’s true. It’s fun to experiment too

huskerfan26

Again thanks for doing this.

phimutau

No problem. You got more questions

huskerfan26

I always have questions.

Thoughts on the NC game?

phimutau

Nitros is looking tough, but he is 0-4 vs jddriscol. It should be a nail biter and come down to the last possession in my opinion. I still have to lean JDs way but Nitros can knock him off.

huskerfan26

I have to agree with you on that front

What would you advise nitros to do?

phimutau

I’d have to study up on JDs games and see what he’s been doing and how he defends to answer that honestly. Looking back at his recruiting classes just blows my mind. He’s had the top ranked guess recruiting class 5 out of last 7 years, and the two off years were 2nd and 4th.

huskerfan26

That's impressive. I wish I could do that.

phimutau

That’s freakin insane. If he keeps this up and gets the win he could keep the streak going for many years

huskerfan26

How do you a portion importance between recruiting and game planning?

phimutau

Recruiting is about 75 to 80% of the game in my book. If you recruit great teams you can put them on autopilot for most of the year and then really buckle down and gameplan those meaningful games. However, you can’t discount game planning because some of the top ranked teams that recruited well get beat early and often in the playoffs.

JD seems to have the formula figured out right now.

huskerfan26

Yes he does

phimutau

His location really helps him

Not much threat from big boys

huskerfan26

I try to get good talent to mask my deficiencies

phimutau

I would have to go look because I can’t remember, but I never took on sims. If I did it was very rare

huskerfan26

Like real estate, location location location

phimutau

I aimed low and intended to grow.

That was once I had my structure in place of course

huskerfan26

I have tried to get high potential guys but in Wilkinson at Cal it's tough

phimutau

I just feel lucky to have gotten those two titles. There was definitely some luck involved in the first one.

huskerfan26

I just get what I can

I'm guessing the aim is to get more NCs at D1A and solidify your greatness

phimutau

That’s the goal. But I’m looking super long term. I’m gonna plant my roots and build something great if I can avoid getting fired

huskerfan26

I can guarantee you that you will not get fired

I will also guarantee you that they will build statues of you whatever school you go to

phimutau

Lol thanks man

huskerfan26

Now let me ask you this, do you think it matters what formations you run?

phimutau

I think once Gridiron Champions comes out in 2020 that I will probably lose a lot of interest in this game.

I think if you stick with a plan and recruit for it that you can make any formation work

I prefer Ifo and Pro because they run the same personnel and it helps me grow my young guys

huskerfan26

I have seen a lot of coaches run Pro Set and win

What about on defense?

I'm guessing it's a similar philosophy

phimutau

I like the 3-4 because you can run a 6-1, 5-2, and 4-3 with it. It’s very versatile and can be useful against these pass heavy teams.

But I am not that great at defense. I allowed a lot of points against me even in my title years.

I’m tempted to branch out and try something different on defense though, especially if I take on a sim team

huskerfan26

With that in mind you might have shown defense doesn't win championships

phimutau

Yeah not in this game. I have yet to see a defense just really shut someone down

I don’t think it works very well in the formulas of the engine.

huskerfan26

I have to agree with you

The engine is pass happy

phimutau

I would absolutely love to be a ground and pine physical team on offense and have a juggernaut D if this game allowed for it.

Pound* not pine

huskerfan26

Do you have thoughts on the rumor that the engine has changed?

phimutau

I have heard that rumor and it might be true, but I am not sure. I can’t imagine they wouldn’t disclose that info. But who knows

Their are so many variables from one game to the next that it would be hard to tell unless you had seasons of data to back it up

huskerfan26

I think it's just looking funky. I have run a few experiments and seen some inconsistent numbers using the same plans

I expected to have consistent results but nope

At the Maze we would like to say many thanks to phimutau for taking the time to chat with us. Until the next time, take it easy.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page