top of page

awags Maze


Another day with no GD but fret not, the Maze is here. Had another sit down with another well known coach and lobbed a few questions his way. He was gracious enough to lob answers our way. I hope you enjoy the sit down as much as I did.

huskerfan26 Hey want to do a Maze interview?

awags When?

huskerfan26 Right now. Can just go back and forth here.

awags Sure, don't ask anything difficult, I am not very smart

huskerfan26 Says the guy who wins battles for fun along with titles. Not to mention calls winners of the NC in wilk How do you think this season will go for you?

awags It's hard to say. I really like the talent on the team, especially the QB's but I am searching for a gameplan that works on offense and defense. I am installing a completely new defense that I have never used before. Offensively, I've made a couple changes that will hopefully give us better results.

huskerfan26 Offensive changes meaning running some?

awags I've already been running quite a bit for the last few seasons. I believe there was a flaw in the passing game and hope that the changes made will help.

huskerfan26 How are you feeling about the running?

awags Our running game is successful most of the time and that's the best we can hope for. I'd rather just pass every down but haven't found a way to make that work in the last four seasons or so.

huskerfan26 Have you ever talked to smokeybones because he is out here just passing on every down And I think cebrake does the same thing

awags There are still coaches passing 100% of the time. Many are in denial that there has been any change. However, look at their schedules and you'll find a few games that their completion percentage is under 50%. Previously I've had teams play tough schedules and never drop below 57%. It has really caused me to look at what improvements I can make on defense so that I can still win games while completing 40% of my passes. Before this I wouldn't worry about defense as we would outscore our opponents almost every game.

huskerfan26 I have thought something has changed but I am still looking for for evidence. GD says nothing has changed I think the first bit of evidence is me winning a NC in Hayes

awags The evidence is in completion percentage. My schedules have as many humans as I can fill it with. Because of that I believe I get better data faster. It's one thing when your passing game is slowed down by an excellent coach, it happens. It is a completely different thing when it gets shut down by coaches that are 0-20 vs you and haven't changed their defense since version 1.0.

huskerfan26 I kind of get that, but some will argue maybe your talent levels have dropped Or the other coaches have caught up with you

awags Some could try to argue that. The talent has and is always there on offense. I almost always have a top 5 Qb if not 2 of them on the roster. The catch up argument is addressed in my previous statement.

huskerfan26 Do you think defense wins championships in GD? I have always admired your QB stable

awags I think it's recently taken a turn in that direction. I am excited about this season's Qb combo

huskerfan26 Before switching to defense. What do you look for when you hit the trail for a QB? Is it potential, GI, Tech, GPA?

awags I start with GI, potential, str, ath and tech in that order. Of course the potential is tied to the WE rating also. I recently became more interested in str than I had been in the past

huskerfan26 I think many will be following the blueprint for QBs you just laid out What made you more interested in strength?

awags In season 133 I recruited a local QB David Campbell. Despite his low ath he was a good prospect and had a str rating of 80 which is the max for a QB. He seemed to always outplay his own ratings and the QB's ahead of him on the depth chart. After that I began paying attention to str as more of a core than just a bonus.

huskerfan26 I have heard strength helps QBs force the ball into tight windows

awags That is a theory I've heard before and seems to make sense. However this game is really just a math problem and assigning human characteristics may be unrealistic.

huskerfan26 Have to agree with you on that one. You said you are changing your defense, are you at liberty to say what you are changing

awags Everything except for the formation

huskerfan26 Are you going the way of @blitziscomin?

awags No, I've been using something similar to what I observe him doing for a few seasons. I'm moving in a radical direction that is only a theory so far. It may be a disaster and isn't worth talking about until we see some results.

huskerfan26 Well we wait and see how it goes.

awags I hope it goes to a SEC and National Title.

huskerfan26 You think it's that great?

awags Not at all. I hope it's great. I've won titles with less talent, we just need the gameplan to perform.

huskerfan26 Ah What do you think carries one far, talent or the gameplan?

awags I still think talent has the advantage but a good gameplanner can overcome large deficits.

huskerfan26 I have seen coaches with great talent waste it away I am one of those coaches

awags If they have great talent they still win a lot, just not against the best coaches. I have played against you enough to know you gameplan very well.

huskerfan26 Well thanks, but even a blind squirrel can find a nut We will be facing each other more often now in the SEC Starting off with this season

awags I'm looking forward to that. I joined Wilk to compete with the best.

huskerfan26 Looking at your OOC is there a game that you are worried about the most?

awags I'm looking forward to playing lsusaint's Nebraska squad. I don't think I have ever coached against him but I've been following his success in Wilk and am impressed.

huskerfan26 He has done well where ever he has been. Gave @truedevil33 problems in C-USA. Are you worried about the Irish or the Seminoles?

awags Sim AI gives @truedevil33 problems. badaxe has beaten me several times with a less talent team so he is always a concern. I've been playing against cfbfan and his other ID's for more than a decade and have always enjoyed the challenge.

huskerfan26 badaxe is a tough customer, I have faced him a few times. I know you hope to start 5-0 but what do you think you will actually be sitting on as a record?

awags If I had to bet 4-1 but these gameplan changes could be a disaster and we could easily be 0-5.

huskerfan26 Is the loss lsusaint?

awags The loss would be the result of averaging my chances versus every team.

huskerfan26 Turning to the conference schedule how do you think you will do?

awags The schedule is tough. thegruntboy has 22 seniors. There are no easy wins.

huskerfan26 Who are you worried about?

awags I'm worried about all 5 human coaches that I play.

huskerfan26 I think the Vols should be a good training session for the Tide. New coach and all they shouldn't be great

awags The roster is tough and the new coach is very good. It should be a struggle.

huskerfan26 I have to agree with you about the roster. The previous coaches left a great roster What is your philosophy when it comes to scheduling? Do you try to pack and get a great SOS Or schedule to win

awags In Wilkinson I just want to play everyone. I don't have a strategy other than to accept and send challenges to good human coaches. I'm not here to play sims or beat up on lesser teams. I am here to compete.

huskerfan26 I get it. That's why I never got a challenge from you when I was at Cal

awags I just wanted your resume to be good enough to join the SEC.

huskerfan26 Well thanks. I appreciate it. Your plan worked Landing the Vols surprised me I know you are always recruiting coaches to the SEC, which programs do you want to see filled next go around?

awags I think it's crazy that UGA is vacant. There is so much local talent in that area.

huskerfan26 Local talent for UGA is local for Tennessee, FSU, Bama and Florida I had UGA in Heisman and every season bumped into those guys

awags I think once you get a foothold it's a very good job.

huskerfan26 But you can build a nice program there I even won a CC there

awags See? Miracles do happen

huskerfan26 Yes they do. This was after going against bhuddhagamer, cebrake, delco and rdierkers Who would you want to see at UGA?

awags cjsweat, that way we have a coach at UGA but won't lose any recruiting area or games to them.

huskerfan26 Lol Let me ask you what your thoughts are on full conferences like we saw a while ago with the BEAST. I think in theory they are awesome but you end up just dragging each other down. Kinda like crabs in a bucket

awags True. When a conference is full not everyone can be successful. That leads to coaches quitting or getting fired. I don't think it's substainable but is probably a lot of fun while it lasts.

huskerfan26 What is the ideal number of coaches to have in a conference? Also is it about the number or quality of coaches?

awags I think the # depends on the conference. Each one has a limited recruiting area. The right # for the Wilk SEC is probably 9. With proper scheduling everyone can make a bowl and have a decent SOS. You always hope to have only quality coaches. Bad coaches take recruits and don't earn bowl money. We may as well have a SIM coach then.

huskerfan26 That's true. I think the BIG XII has the right balance Right number and all quality coaches

awags I think they could hold another.

huskerfan26 At what school?

awags Iowa St. That way they could pull more recruits from traditional Big Ten areas.

huskerfan26 Ah I have seen bjschumacher have success there in Leahy Who should pick it up so that the quality does not drop

awags bjschumacher ? success? I would need to see evidence.

huskerfan26 Lol Like many coaches he owns me

awags If you wanted to stay in conference it should be chainsaw. It would be a more favorable recruits distribution for himself and the conference.

huskerfan26 I think @blitziscomin will get him out of Oklahoma soon enough

awags They both have large classes this season but i don't see any battles.

huskerfan26 I think @blitziscomin will visit him later if he has anything worth anything

awags That may be the problem

huskerfan26 What are the chances of a repeat for the Sooners?

awags I don't like to make predictions before recruiting is over but I liked his team better last season.

huskerfan26 Makes sense. Now what do you think is the key to recruiting? In Wilkinson and in general

awags Control what you can and prepare for the worst.

huskerfan26 Seems like decent advice. I think I do not follow it Are you of the school of thought that says get a QB every season

awags If you can. Then if one season you get a superstar you can cut the guy in front of him.

huskerfan26 I have heard never battle for lineman, thoughts on that.

awags I don't believe in absolutes like that. Battle for what you need, battle for what you can't replace and battle if you can and it won't hurt your class. How is that?

huskerfan26 Sounds reasonable And measured And nuanced Who do you put more value on, LB or DB?

awags Sometimes I will fight over a recruit that I would normally pass on just because I have extra cash. I will let you know after we see how this gameplan works.

huskerfan26 Lol Does formation matter on either side of the ball? You have people who swear by formations

awags I'm sure it does. I think it's just much more obvious when a QB lacks FIQ vs other positions. I have experimented with low FIQ on defense and have witnessed an entire season with zero takeaways and very few sacks.

huskerfan26 GI is important for QBs I think. Can be a difference between a NC and a good season What are your thoughts on F. IQ

awags I meant FIQ. Allow me to edit.

huskerfan26 I know there was a chat about this a while ago. Team F. IQ or individual development?

awags There needs to be a balance. There is an area of diminishing returns for both.

huskerfan26 So I have been told. Now any advice for the new owners on the game

awags Listen to your user base. They can give you direction and even help at no cost.

huskerfan26 What specifics do you want to see changed?

awags I think they can delegate forum monitoring and low level tickets to trusted community members just like many other games do. That would free up time and resources to develop the game.

huskerfan26 What specific developments would you like to see?

awags I would like to see them integrate user develop tool and features such as yatzr, live chat, guess reports and podcasts into the game and site.

huskerfan26 No room for the Maze in your development?

awags The Maze should have an entire site to itself.

huskerfan26 I like the sound of that

awags :100:

huskerfan26 Well this has been fun. Hope to pick your brain later in the season. Thanks for taking the time to do this

awags The pleasure is all mine.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page