top of page

QB Temple Maze


As promised we are back again with another Maze run. I hope everyone had a lovely weekend. Mine was great I did not have to worry about gameplanning. I did not lose any games, YAY me. Now we are going on the road to look at the a prospect who might carry a team to the promised land. I know that is a bold statement but this kid might be the ONE. He has the attributes that jump off the screen, I know people will say we have seen better and I do not care. I like him and wish I could put in some recruiting effort into him for my team.

Today we are going to look at were he is from a bit and also know a bit about his high school. The young man we are talking about is Aaron "AJ" Jones, out of Temple HS in Temple, TX. I know for most of you this might be the first time you have heard of Temple, TX. The city is in central Texas and as of the 2016 the city had a population of 72 000. That is enough people to fit into the Longhorns home stadium and still have some empty seats. The population will not fit into the Houston Cougars stadium which only has a capacity of 40 000. Whichever way you slice this it is going to be a step up for the young man.

I only mentioned the two colleges above because those are the only ones I think will be going after AJ. Both teams are losing a QB and will need to replenish their ranks. The current Houston coach is rumored to have said they are going to throw everything at AJ, and the Cougars do need to get good QBs because they run that all powerful shotgun formation which almost carried them to a NC berth. Now looking at the distances between Temple TX and the schools, it looks like the Longhorns might have an advantage but that throws the Aggies into the mix. The Aggies do not need a QB as their starter will be returning but if they are planning for the future they need to throw their name in the hat for this young man.

Now back to AJ's hometown. There is plenty to do in the city and I bet as the starting QB he did everything. I think he spent a lot of time visiting a few restaurants, he is coming in at 208 lbs. He is not a small boy and he can tack a hit, he was sacked 14 times last season. The young man has an arm on him, 62% completion rate but he also likes throwing the arm o the opposition. He backs his arm a bit too much. It will do him a lot of good to sit behind a good vet to learn from. Whilst sitting there he will have to do a better job learning than he did in his high school classes, he is coming in with a 2.7 GPA. It is not the worst I have seen but I would want my QB to be smarter than that so that he picks the playbook quick and is able to read the defense. The young man has a good understanding of the formations that are run both the two schools who will going after him, but he is slightly better at the shotgun than he is at Pro Set, ad with that in mind the Cougars might have the football advantage. The glitz and glummer of Austin might be too much for him to say no to them. Another team I have overlooked in all of this is the Sooners, they might throw their name into the hat. Watch this space.

I think that is enough for today. We now know a bit about the young man and his city. Tomorrow we find out a bit more with a sit down with the young man himself. Until then , take it easy. Keep an eye out for the Bud Awards (B.A) nominations and get your votes in.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page