top of page

Hookem Maze


With the site being down and all, how about a little something to hold us over. We have time so here is something to keep you guys entertained. I know this is not the same as the high you get from GD but I am sure it beats the alternative which is nothing about GD at all. This is a sit down with the one and only hookemhorns7 as suggested by the headline of the article. I hope you enjoy it.

huskerfan26 Look at this a Husker fan and a Longhorn fan who are friends

Hookemhorns7 Lol well they aren't in the same conference anymore

huskerfan26 But hate and rivalries run deep I have always had respect for the longhorns especially with Mack Brown

Hookemhorns7 It's hard to hate Nebraska when you're an alumni. Mack did a lot for UT but as we've seen with aging coaches the "fire" goes away and so does the team a bit. Herman will have them back.

huskerfan26 I like the old timers

Hookemhorns7 Same with Nebraska, Riley wasn't the right guy and I'm very intrigued to see what Frost can do

huskerfan26 I would have kept Charlie Strong. Riley was never the right guy

Hookemhorns7 I was a Strong supporter too but Herman has already taken them to another level

huskerfan26 New coach at RL Texas and relatively new coach at GD Texas in Wilkinson, who do you think will do better?

Hookemhorns7 I think both this upcoming season and in the future, UT in Wilk is much more likely to succeed. Jason is a fantastic coach and with the bowl money that conf brings in they're going to be tough for quite a while.

huskerfan26 I think I have to agree with you. I feel like I'm following in Jason's footsteps. First I went to Cal and now Tennessee Texas next?

Hookemhorns7 Lol could definitely happen. You turned Cal into a power like JF did, it will be fun to see what you do at Tenn. You'll prob have to wait a while to coach to REAL UT as I dont see JF leaving anytime soon

huskerfan26 Cal was a juggernaut when he was there and then dropped off a bit. If I were him I would never leave Texas. So this has been bugging me, why leave the 'Cuse? Great location and great conference A ton of bowl money every season

Hookemhorns7 There were several factors that went into the move. First I feel like as a DIAA content supplier it's easier to follow the season day to day if I'm at that level. Second I felt pretty pathetic as a coach seeing the success I was following from the previous 2 guys. We were competitive, lots of close games and we beat z32 once and nearly got him again last season but the numbers just weren't there. I set a 10 win minimum goal with all my teams and we obviously didnt hit that with Cuse.

huskerfan26 I can respect some of your reasons Being a content supplier, okay i can let it slide but it's barely sliding following successful coach, is what I do and I take it as a challenge to step my game up 10 wins I respect

Hookemhorns7 I have only been doing post season stuff and that's even been just a quick glance. I would like to actually have some knowledge about the teams I'm picking to win and talking about

huskerfan26 i like following successful coaches and undoing their work At the Maze we want our correspondents to know what they are talking about so I understand So now we know why you dropped down, the next question is why the team and conference you picked?

Hookemhorns7 I had a few teams picked out initially and Indiana St wasnt an option. When I look into a new team I look at conference, recruiting and recent success. I was looking for an all out rebuild and a decent conf or at least active conf. I chose Indiana State over Coastal Carolina due to recruiting area and the Gateway has 3 solid, established teams which will help with recruiting money. ISU is also not in the division with the "dynasty" I'm trying to convince another solid DIAA coach,who is quietly moving, to join the Gateway but not sure we will end up in the same conf.

huskerfan26 Well you best get on the charm offensive.

Hookemhorns7 Lol I try, I feel like Lebron... trying to "recruit" talent to join me.

huskerfan26 When you look at recent success, do you want them to suck or be decent?

Hookemhorns7 Depends, in this case since I was looking for an all out rebuild I wanted a bad team. A team who finishes 100+ 5 of the last 6 seasons and 10+ losses through the same time definitely fits the bill. ISU also only has 1 human won CC and 3 playoff wins so I hope to build on those numbers

huskerfan26 Nice. Trying to build your own legacy there. Are you lookin for them to erect a statue of you?

Hookemhorns7 Lol I always hope for that. At this point I'm just looking to get the train on the tracks.

huskerfan26 Now how long do you plan on staying there? How long is your contract? Will you be pulling a CJ or bama and leave in a few seasons

Hookemhorns7 Lol honestly no one knows. I always do 2 year contracts and I really would like to be here for quite a while... although that was my goal with Cuse. At this present time I would like to stick it out at ISU for 6-10 seasons. Try to turn the Gateway into the new OVC and build a program up.

huskerfan26 We are going to remember you saying that you want to do 6-10 seasons. We will bring it up if you leave.

Hookemhorns7 Lol I know, probably at this point my only move would be drop Wilk

huskerfan26 Well, we do not want that We have had an exodus of coaches and that's unacceptable for Wilkinson Since you have dropped to D-1AA how much content should we expect from you?

Hookemhorns7 My initial plan is to try to get 4-6 pieces total out a season. I've been pretty consistent with playoffs but would like to get in a couple of pieces during the regular season.

huskerfan26 I think everyone would love that

Hookemhorns7 DIAA has suffered over the last 5 seasons or so, so I'm hoping if I can do my part a little the numbers might come back

huskerfan26 Anything to help is always welcome Now have you talked to your players yet?

Hookemhorns7 A little bit, unfortunately I had to remove 3 players from the roster. They had some off the field issues so I didnt think they would be able to help the team on the field either.

huskerfan26 Totally understand. Can't have rotten apples on the roster Now have you talked to them about formations and stuff?

Hookemhorns7 I have decided on a defensive formation and brought in my defensive coordinator from Cuse. On offense I'm still up in the air. I am torn right now between continuing Trips or switching to pro set. I've had good success with pro in Leahy but in the conference 2 teams run pro already and 1 does box so I would like to throw something different in the mix

huskerfan26 I'm surprised the D.C from 'Cuse came down with you. Would have thought the' Cuse A.D keeps him for continuity

Hookemhorns7 Well he wanted to stay but since he wasnt sure he was going to have someone to work for at this point he followed me

huskerfan26 So you are not beholden to formations?

Hookemhorns7 I run different formations across all of my teams, cant decide on my favorite. I like all of them in certain situations. Even on defense I do both 4-3 and 3-4

huskerfan26 I bet A.Ds love you So flexible Now have you seen enough talent to work with on the current roster?

Hookemhorns7 I actually have a couple pieces to work with but we're going to have a couple long seasons. I have begun scouting as well and we don't have the vision to compete either. This will take time

huskerfan26 Well, with your skills I think you will be fine. You have out coached talent before

Hookemhorns7 Well thanks, I hope we can build this program up and make a few deep playoff runs

huskerfan26 So when should we expect you to be in the big game?

Hookemhorns7 With our current vision I would expect to actually compete in 5 seasons. I think we will be alright and making playoffs in a couple of seasons... hopefully

huskerfan26 Well the alumni will pull this interview out in a few seasons

Hookemhorns7 I hope so and I hope the train is rolling at that time

huskerfan26 Any advice for the next 'Cuse coach?

Hookemhorns7 I would say just be careful where you recruit but there is plenty of talent around to get. I hope you can make the Cuse respectable again.

huskerfan26 So, I'm guessing you think you lost it on the recruiting trail?

Hookemhorns7 Yes, I brought sims on 2 years out of 4. I think that would have made the difference in a couple of our close games this season. That division is tough as nails but a good coach can succeed there, no doubt.

huskerfan26 How do you think you would do if you had a full complement of your own players? In that division

Hookemhorns7 My biggest glaring weakness this season was lack of DB depth. I had 6 viable guys. If I would have had a full unit this team would have been 10-3 easy. Some of the losses were coaching but not having a full roster and some mediocre talent really sets a difference in the BEAST

huskerfan26 Now do you think that roster in another conference would win you a CC?

Hookemhorns7 I think it's good enough to be pretty competitive anywhere but not good enough to win CC over elites unless a very good coach was there. The team still has good talent at RB, WR and decent QB. The QBs dont rank high due to lower STR but they're very competent signal callers

huskerfan26 When you recruit QBs what do you look at the most? And will it be a different approach at D-1AA from D1A?

Hookemhorns7 I value GI most heavily and then Tech. I've started to value ATH a lot and STR I basically set a minimum but it's not a major factor. I will approach it the same at DIAA as I do DIA.

huskerfan26 How much do you expect from your QBs? Do you expect them to squeeze passes in there or to take off on a run?

Hookemhorns7 I like the ATH to be able to move in the pocket a bit and take off if need be but if I need him to make a throw I want that too, the way I set up my offense I try to avoid having to need him to make a contested throw. So to me being able to buy time and make an easier throw is better than trying to force it in there consistently

huskerfan26 Can respect that. Now do you consider RBs like WRs as some coaches do?

Hookemhorns7 I try to have both. I value a true running RB and having an option out of the backfield in the passing game is also key.

huskerfan26 Have you noticed if the engine has changed or is your gameplan fluid not to notice such things

Hookemhorns7 I honestly havent noticed a difference. Most of the people who seemed to notice used predominantly or solely passing games. I have always had more of a balanced or slightly pass favored offense.

huskerfan26 Now another important question. Do you believe in having a set philosophy or plan for each coach specifically?

Hookemhorns7 I gameplan for each coach. I change offense and defense for every game.sometiems I might just run a variation of a previous plan. Sometimes it's a whole new plan

huskerfan26 Mr Flexible

Hookemhorns7 I like to be unpredictable when I need to be

huskerfan26 I get it. For you what's the order of importance : Recruiting Gameplanning Scheduling

Hookemhorns7 Recruiting first, without at least some talent you cant fully carry out any gameplan. Gameplanning second. Scheduling last I usually like to test myself with a couple of tough games in OOC.

huskerfan26 Now that scheduling strategy do you think it is costly at D1A?

Hookemhorns7 It can and has but if you can get through it you are also setting yourself up nicely.in Leahy and Hayes (albeit not the beast Wilk is) my teams have each had 4 straight top 5 finishes

huskerfan26 So you have the ability. The pressure and expectations have gone up a notch Were do you fall on this GPA thing for QBs?

Hookemhorns7 I actually take GPA into consideration at every position. I dont like to go below a certain GPA unless the player is already a stud or great potential.

huskerfan26 Do you think it matters at D1A? You don't have as many games as you do at D-1AA If you make the playoffs

Hookemhorns7 I do, you still have big games and formation IQ could help you get that W and THAT W could be the difference between a conf champion or a national champion

huskerfan26 Very true. Now you seem like a knowledgeable guy. Besides me, do you mentor other people? I get mentored by everyone

Hookemhorns7 Over the years I have offered advise to many coaches. There have only been a handful that have been periodically sending things back and forth. There isnt really anyone currently playing I would say I "mentored"

huskerfan26 You don't count me? As someone you mentored

Hookemhorns7 Well ya but no one besides you is playing

huskerfan26 Ah, that's why I need mentoring, I'm slow Are you following the world cup?

Hookemhorns7 I followed a little at the beginning but havent lately

huskerfan26 Is it because the Germans are out?

Hookemhorns7 No cause US never made it. I dont have anyone to root for

huskerfan26 You watch for the love of the game

huskerfan26 Now let's look forward a bit. Who do you think will be the Champs next season at both D1A and D1AA?

Hookemhorns7 Oh geez, for DIAA APB and St. Mary's didn't lose many guys so they have a very good shot and obviously UNI has a great chance of continuing their dominance My early money on DIA is on Rutgers or Texas both teams look solid for next season

huskerfan26 The Texas pick is not just bias?

Hookemhorns7 Eh only cause I know what JF can do but he has a lot of JR on that squad

huskerfan26 I think UNI continues to dominate

Hookemhorns7 I think so too, while they continue to be able to control so much of the country in recruiting they will roll

huskerfan26 He has definitely created a gridiron dynasty See what I did

Hookemhorns7 Lol solid

huskerfan26 Now with the new management what would you tell them to improve the game?

Hookemhorns7 My first request would be a 4-8 team playoff at DIA and I think the ability to search recruits by state and know who is leading in a battle once signing starts, similar to HD

huskerfan26 All that sounds reasonable but some will push back

Hookemhorns7 There will be push back for pretty much every proposition

huskerfan26 That's true. I think people who play this game enjoy a good argument

huskerfan26 I think with that, it's time to end the interview. Thanks for taking the time

Hookemhorns7 No problem man Thanks for having me on the Maze


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page