top of page

Jabbering JAG 134.1 (Coach Interview)


Whoa it has been over a month since we have posted to the site! We're still around but between a new job, second kid and visitors just about every weekend... things just haven't really lined up. Also I'm not gunna lie... I'm VERY burnt out on GD right now. I was hoping the move to Delaware State would help revive me... It hasn't so far. I got back into HBD to try to keep myself on the site daily but it's to the point that I am forgetting to set all 3 exhibition games with my teams, gameplanning has become an after thought and those gut wrenching losses are a thing to just shrug my shoulders at and just throw in a different gameplan for the next game. Recruiting still grabs my attention as best it can but even then I have no desire to truly scout to the best I can... pretty much if I can get someone easy that is what I have been doing.

I haven't participated in a live show in about 2 months and I have honestly stopped listening to the recordings. I feel like the media as a whole has hit a "rut." The site is dead, no content and no chats anymore. The podcasts seem to just cover the top teams anymore so unless you're top 10 you're pretty much dust in the wind. DII content has stopped, unfortunately so far that was short lived. With everything the way it is there isn't anything to keep my entertainment. I DO think with TD switching to youtube and having video and "interactive" screen is a nice face lift.

I do want to apologize to the coaches of GD for the lack of content on the site. As far as the future here... I have one season left on my JAG account, so I will for sure be back for one more season and I promise to go all out for you guys next season in case IT IS my last season.

With all of that said I was able to talk to one of our long time DIAA coaches. 1Lanceman and I got together. Enjoy!

Name: Lance Current Location: South Florida Age: 46 Favorite Sport(s): football Favorite Team(s): Lions, Redwings Favorite Level in GD: 1AA (never been to DIv 1) Why did you join Wilkinson: It happened to be the closest to the start of a new season. What do you like most about this world/what keeps you here: The competition is crazy here! What do you like least about this world: The gameplanning/formations limitations. Toughest coach for you to beat in Wilkinson: There are many, many of them... had the pleasure of being crushed by some of the finest to ever coach in GD...Pete, OP, Panthsho, Nitros. Watty, Cj, Sternes, Ozz, Dachman, Sjurat, Rusty, Chetty. Biggest rival coach in Wilkinson: I don't know?? for 6-8 seasons Panthsho and I were always scheduled for the last game of the season, and almost every season it was basically an elimination game to get into the playoffs. For a rivalry both teams have to win, and I haven't been doing that to much lately...lololol. Philosophy when putting together non-conf games: Ask OP....I get really drunk and schedule just ridiculous things. Gonna have to change this "try to take on anybody style" so I can get my vision back up & get back into the playoffs. What drew you to the conference you're in: Liberty was the best team avail at the time. and they play in the SWAC. What drew you to your current team: CJ had built up a top 15 team here that, I have, thru very hard work, blood sweat & tears, have dropped to a top 40 team. lolol. Why have you been there as long as you have: I try to leave a program in better shape that I received it in, and again CJ had them pretty good (go ahead, just ask him. lolol, So i'm working hard to try to bring the team back up to that level, or higher, if I can. Do you plan on leaving Liberty soon: See above, once I can (if) get this team back up to somewhat elite status, then Ill decide if I could make a deep playoff run, or not, and move to another team, similar to what OP & Nitros did, but not at there level.

Thank you for taking the time to do this 1lanceman!


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page