top of page

Badaxe sit down


I know we have some important games going on right now but the post season allows for sit downs with some of the coaches. The Maze managed to get a sit down with coach badaxe and ask a few questions and get some golden nuggets from him about the games and a lot of other things. Coach badaxe has been doing well with his Seminoles since he got there. Everyone knows it is tough work in Tallahassee but he has managed to curve out a spot for himself and get his program working.

How did you get into GD given so many other options out there? --I worked with umhero, and he showed me the game. I was immediately hooked. And have you tried any of the other options out there? --I have not tried any of the other sports sims out there. I did try one season of baseball and one of basketball here on WIS, but didn't care for them. What about GD keeps you here? --I like the competition with the other coaches. I like the idea that I can try things that may work, may not work. I like the strategy/counter strategy aspect of the game. How did you pick your handle? --I was born in Bad Axe, Michigan. How has the game changed since you joined? --When I started the worlds were almost full, so there were few recruits with SIMS on them. Money carried over from season to season, and huge war chests were possible. So I learned from the start to recruit lesser players with good growth potential. What is your favorite part of this game? --I like recruiting, and I like game planning. I like that your schedule at D1A is an important component in the national title contest. And obviously what is your least favorite part of the game? --Right now I would have to say that it is seble. For nearly ten years, the integrity of the recruiting schedule was maintained. When the migration to the new platform took place, seble messed something up, and we moved a day forward. He refuses to fix his error. I am afraid that his continued lack of respect for the wishes of the long-timers, many of whom have spent thousands here, does not bode well for the future. What would you like to see be improved in this game: • I wish that the in-season scouting reports gave the potential of the player. As far as recruiting?

• I hate that sometimes an A/C scout will come back in the voice of the player, not the scouting coach. There is no way then to know if the player is an STL player. As far as game planning? • I think this if fine the way it is. As far as the simulation? • There are a few bugs, like when a fumble is recovered by the offense, only five seconds run off the clock. Also I had a game where I trailed by three, was in field goal range, had a timeout, but ran the ball and the clock ran out. But as complicated as the code must be, there are always going to be edge cases like that. As far as realism and all the other bells and whistles? -- I can successfully run, I can successfully pass, I can stop the run, I can stop the pass, or at least effect those aspects of the game. So I am relatively satisfied. How many teams do you have and why that many? --I have four teams. That is about all I have time for right now. Why have you picked the schools that you picked, through time and the one you have now? --When I started I picked Ursinus in Warner. That was the first season up when I became interested, and Ursinus had the most scholarships available. I decided I liked the idea of a rebuild, so I picked up Amherst in Leahy, which was the worst team in the worst conference in D-III. I built them into an NC champ, becoming the first coach to win an NC in any world there.In Rockne I picked Centre College because JConte had coached there. I moved up to Bryant and won a couple NCs there, then chose Bucknell because the legendary nelsonba25 left to move up to D1A, and I had decided that I was going to try my hand up there as well, so I wanted to move fast. Then came Conte's folly, version 2.0. I rolled through the regular season, and first round of the playoffs was deployment day. What a massive screw up that was. The first half simmed late, but I was leading at the half. Then the first half was re-simmed, I was losing, and my changes to my game plan made things worse, and I lost. I quit that day. Which school would you want to coach if you could and why? --I would like to try all of the elites at some point, but I don't really have any strong preference. I have won NCs at all four levels, which was a goal, so now I am just moving when an elite opens up, except for Sacred Heart in Yost, where jasonfreeman and I have a date in the NC game almost every season, and where he is 5-1 against me. I also want to go back to Ursinus in Warner and win an NC there. As far as was there any personal reasons to take certain teams? --I went to East Stroudsburg in Warner because the old gang from Warner CC were getting the band back together, and I chose that school because my college roommate was from there. When job openings start, how often do you consider moving? --I always look. What schools would you like to coach the most? --Penn State, Notre Dame, USC What are your hopes with your current team?

--Florida State is suppose to be the hardest of the elites to win at, so I would like to get an NC here, then start looking around for another elite. What would make you just drop the game all together? --seble changing things. Like recruiting. What is the best advice for new coaches that they probably can’t find on the forum? -- This advice is out there, somewhere, but find a mentor. There are a lot of good pinned posts, but the game is pretty complicated and a word of advice is always a great help.

Thanks for taking the time to answer a few questions for the Maze. I hope everyone enjoyed the interview. And also good luck to all the coaches in the post season games except the coach I am facing. Until the next time, take it easy.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page