top of page

Blitziscomin Maze


We have another season under way and it has been an interesting start to it. Everyone is surprised by the start the Sooners have had this season and this made the folks at the Maze want to sit down with the coach and chop it up a bit. We wanted to know how he was dealing with this start to the season.

huskerfan26 You up for an interview?

blitziscomin Sure

huskerfan26 We can just chat here and I'll plug it on the website

blitziscomin Ok sounds adventurous

huskerfan26 First thanks for taking the time It's been a while since the Maze had an interview with you How has GD been treating you?

blitziscomin Lately my Wilkinson team has been a huge disappointment. Strong recruiting. Poor scheduling & stale game plans. Bryant over-performs every season so I have that going for me

huskerfan26 The Wilk start for your Sooners has been a surprise to all I think. Were do you think it has gone wrong thus far?

blitziscomin I knew I scheduled five games where they were a coin flip at best. And nortonis showed me the Sooners weren’t close to a coin flip with Penn State...lol I guess I’m taking thegruntboy approach these days

huskerfan26 Yeah the start was rough for you but the result today should give you hope

blitziscomin I own awags so that doesn’t really count

huskerfan26 Lol You are in an elite group then With this start for your team what would constitute a successful season?

blitziscomin He needs bulletin board material Well each season my goal is NC. I’ll probably accept this dumpster fire of a season and start playing my youngsters I can still play for the CC I guess Start a new rivalry with Jason at Texas Prepare to punk that new Arkansas coach in recruiting

huskerfan26 I'm happy just making the CC. But I guess that's why I'm not so good at the game. Do you have a welcome to the BIG XII package for Jason?

blitziscomin I’ll welcome him to the unbalanced classes that we all have in recruiting. I’m actually excited to see what he does - does he try to balance classes or eliminate one full class I think he is down to 3-4 recruits on my 18 scholarship class Houston and A&M have unbalanced classes also so there is added fun - not like we need any more in Wilk

huskerfan26 When recruiting starts I always grab my popcorn and watch schools in Texas go at it

blitziscomin It is the best part of the game for me right now- not even close

huskerfan26 Well that's good news. Beats hating everything about the game. I have those days every now and again How are you liking the somewhat new look BIG XII? You are the elder statesman of the conference

blitziscomin I like it - Jason will be awesome at Texas Kinda mad at myself- the only 2 jobs id leave Oklahoma for are Penn St and Texas - both programs got better coaches than me so I guess I’m stuck at Oklahoma forever

huskerfan26 You never know, they might open. Ever thought about leaving for a BCS? Try a rebuild or join the crazy BEAST

blitziscomin I’m not leaving Big12 My goal is take TT when I’m done at Oklahoma

huskerfan26 I don't think Darryl will let you take them With the first rankings out, any thoughts?

blitziscomin Not gonna lie - I haven’t looked. I haven’t checked my scores yet for Bryant or Dobie yet either.

huskerfan26 Cause you know you just crushing people

blitziscomin Penn State should be #1 with that they did to the Sooners

huskerfan26 I'll let you know they are not

blitziscomin Is CJ still #1?

huskerfan26 Nah he dropped back a bit Rutgers is back at the top of the mountain

blitziscomin There are so many great coaches in Wilk - I’m excited to see who is there at the finish line

huskerfan26 Me too. Wilk is always interesting Will you be blessing us with more of your insight this season?

blitziscomin I want to. I have some recruiting info that has been fun to play around with. I have recruited undecided RBs and LBs in various worlds converting to WR TE DL and DB

huskerfan26 That sounds interesting

blitziscomin I think there are some nuggets of info that can help coaches save some money for their high dollar battles

huskerfan26 I know I can use that info at my FSU team in Leahy How different are your OUs in Wilk and Leahy?

blitziscomin Funny enough my OU team in Leahy has had problems spending money recruiting I have had a huge pile of cash with recruits I like. Last season I decided to jump Penn State’s LB cuz I had 130k left over. This season I jumped a WR cuz I had 100k sitting - Leahy has been interesting

huskerfan26 You should send some of that cash to the Seminoles

blitziscomin Well my Seminoles in Dobie have been taking on sims every season

huskerfan26 That makes me feel better about my Seminoles This past cycle was the first time we took on walk ons

blitziscomin We have 5 in Dobie I spent no time analyzing- just fly by the seat of my pants - and get killed every season in Dobie I keep telling myself I’m dropping it

huskerfan26 You need to take out your curb stomping boots from the Wilk OU closet and show them to the Dobie folks

blitziscomin I have enjoyed playing in D2 in Wilk with a shared account RoyBatty is running my defense and I’m recruiting for the account Has been a lot of fun so far

huskerfan26 That sounds like a fun experiment What are the chances for a deep run in the playoffs?

blitziscomin South Dakota should be making deep runs for as long as we are there

huskerfan26 And does your recruiting philosophy change because it's a shared account

blitziscomin NC contenders every season

huskerfan26 Maybe bring the co coach on as a consultant at OU?

blitziscomin Well he is at Houston so probably not...lol

huskerfan26 Well it won't be a full time position. It's just consulting a bit Have you managed to dig into the first three games to determine what went wrong?

blitziscomin No - I saw two were close and I figured they would be. I actually didn’t look at any of the box scores yet to see what my issues were/are

huskerfan26 You have plenty of time to do the autopsy of the games. Any remaining games on your schedule you are concerned about?

blitziscomin LSU/Nebraska/Texas/A&M all concern me...

huskerfan26 Those are all concerning games. My money is on you in half of those

blitziscomin GUESS likes my roster so u never know

huskerfan26 That's true. Has the thought of switching formations crossed your mind to spice things up? I like your roster and wouldn't mind swapping

blitziscomin I think I’ll never leave the 3-4 Offense I’m open to anything Maybe there is a chance......lol

huskerfan26 I'm a big 3-4 fan in this game. Wanna tell us which way you are leaning on offense?

blitziscomin I lean Trips but having a hard time proving it. Great roster with it in Rockne at Florida - but I can’t beat cebrake at Tenn so it doesn’t matter.

huskerfan26 cebrake run a very potent offense across his teams. I've had problems with him myself, but if anyone can figure him out, it's you What about Trips has your leaning towards it?

blitziscomin I like a heavy run game versus a pass defense And when they play run u can play the deep ball great

huskerfan26 Makes sense. I run it with Bama in Heisman and have pushed cebrake with it, with my young QBs Do you think it's better than Pro Set? Or is it all down to the coach and how they use the formations

blitziscomin I think it can be better than ps - but I think u need 3 stud WRs With a stud rb

huskerfan26 Do you share the feeling that there has been a tweak in the game with regards to fumbles and completions?

blitziscomin Yes - and sacks I’m not getting the sacks I used to

huskerfan26 I gave up 8 sacks the other day Seems like we are having different experiences in the sack department

blitziscomin Something is tweaked with it My LBs aren’t getting sacks

huskerfan26 What tweaks would you want to see from the new owners?

blitziscomin I really just wished they saw the value in the company and want to grow it

huskerfan26 I get it. I bet it is a lot of work for them right now with switching everything over

blitziscomin Needs to be coach-owned Lol

huskerfan26 That could work, but I bet some will complain that there are a few coaches who have an inside look under the hood but like I have said before, i have 50 cents to through in and i can find more change

huskerfan26 Hey thanks for taking the time to chat

blitziscomin Sure!


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page