top of page

Title Maze


Well we have reached the sharp end of the season. We have the first trophies about to be handed out. We are going to talk about who gets them. We might dip our toes into the post season match-ups, only for the national title though, sorry to all the other losers who wont make the NC. We have a few games that are of some real interest, they have implications for the national title game, which is the game that matters the most.

We are going to start with the easiest match-up. We have Cal going up against USC. And the smart money is on USC, that is always the smart money in the USC. It has been so for the last three seasons, and each of the last three the Trojans have been to the national title game. They will not make the game this year, they lost to UNC who lost to Cal and Cal is about to lose to USC. What a crazy world we live in.

As called all season long we have Memphis and Houston going at it and it will be the first time the coaches meet up and they do so at the big stage. I think the safe money is on Houston. The coach has been there for a while and due to that he has his team set up as he want it. The other coach is just working with the roster that was left behind and for me that is a disadvantage. It has been a while since truedevil tasted victory in the conference title game. I bet he was glad to see lsusaint leave for Lincoln Nebraska.

The Troy State coach has lost some games to the coach on the opposite sideline though I doubt he will be losing this game. Everyone knows Troy State will be going into this games with ambitions for the big game. They are within striking distance and I bet they can smell it too. I think just to be safe the Troy State boys need to concentrate on this game first before thinking about the future, the first meeting went for Troy by only eight points, that is too close for comfort. In this game they will need to really open the playbook and put up points to get that gap to the top two closed down and have a chance.

Will the Tigers of LSU stop the Gators? I doubt it. I know it will be a good game but I think Florida is just too good this year, I thought the Vols would have a plan for them but nope. The Gators are just chomping at the bits to get their hands on that national title trophy again. It has been a while for them. I know I did not show them any love this entire season but they just kept their heads down and took care of business and now they are here. I think that is the way to go, just concentrate on your job. I know LSU beat the early season favorites Alabama boys and that for me was a big win and that tells me they can beat the best team if given a sniff, so Gators you have been warned.

The aforementioned lsusaint is in the conference title in his first season in Nebraska. I bet the people of Nebraska will be glues to their TVs this weekend watching their team try to capture some glory. They will be going up against their hated rivals in Texas. This will be the first meeting between the coaches and what a place to meet for the first time. My money is on the Longhorns, they just know how to get it done, by hook or crook. Though I must admit the Huskers look good and can get the job done. I know one thing for sure it will be a close game.

Ohio is going to finish the season 13-1 before the bowl season starts. This was guaranteed by the coach and he will deliver on it. I doubted for a while but I am now a believer. The coach already knows how to beat his opposing coach and he will do it again. I think Ohio and Troy State should play each other at some point in time in the future. I like the OOC for Ohio for next season. Maybe have a round robin for Houston, Ohio, Hawaii, and Troy State and see who is the best mid major. I know his was suggested before for the elites but I do not think it ever happened.

Michigan and their coach are dreaming of the NC and that dream will be crushed by the Nittany Lions. I am sorry to say. I know they beat them earlier in the season but that will not happen again. Everyone knows it is hard to beat a team twice in a single season and because of that my money is on the Lions to get revenge. Penn lost three games this season and that is not like them at all, I know the coach knows how to beat lyonzfan and he will give it his best to spoil his quest to make the NC.

Who takes the lead in the series between the coaches in the ACC CC? I do not know for sure but my money is on Miami avenging their loss earlier in the season. They have had tie to think about how to win this match up now and I think they will be able to do so. FSU definitely know how to get the job done in conference play and what a way to finish the season given how they started it.

Hawaii will be winning their conference title game. Not much else to say here.

The big one is going to definitely decide who plays in the national title game. Fro the looks of things it is going to be Rutgers. The coach has been on fire recently and will have a solid gameplan ready for DePaul. He is good at them halftime adjustments, so whatever the score is at halftime the game is not over unless they have already blown out the opposition. Now DePaul has an offense that is very much high powered and they know how to get yards and put up points. DePaul has fallen a bit in the rankings and with that in mind will them beating Rutgers propel them into the big game? Nope, they are too far back. In this game I am just hoping for a good game.

National title game is going to be Rutgers and Troy State. You heard it here first. Until the next time, take it easy.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page