top of page

Finish Strong


It has been a long season and we still have somewhat a long way to go. We still have the last games of the regular season, then we have the conference championships and then the bowls begin. We then have to wait during job changes and I doubt there are man y changes to look forward to this off-season. After that we then have to wait a few days before recruiting begins and the bloodbath starts again. Wilk has been an awesome season this time around.

We had a upsets every other day, which makes things interesting. You had the Sooners starting on fire and then go off the boil a bit as the season progressed. The lost today in the Red River Rivalry game. There have been a few seasons when the Sooners had the number of the Longhorns, but that has stopped. I think they have lost the last few games between the two. I bet blitziscomin is sitting back right now trying to figure out were it all went wrong, or maybe it did not go wrong at all and the team just has holes there were exploited by others in his three losses thus far. I think it is safe to say he will win the game against Texas Tech (he used to coach them). blitziscomin is always working on adjusting his gameplans and I am sure he will have something to unleash on Wilk. I think in the BIG XII we are going to have deenhorvie in his first season making the CC to go against Texas and BK. BK has been checked out it feels like and I think even with that in mind he still rolls. I say Texas wins the CC.

I think jeff18 has just found out how hard it is to be in Boise. Recruiting is tough out there, I have been there before. He has the entire division to himself but he will not be making the CC. From the other division we have Hawaii, no surprise there. I think the only thing to stop Hawaii from winning the CC is Hawaii. Being out in Hawaii is known to be tough but the coaches who have gone there have made it work. I think this just elevates them into a group of stud coaches. The biggest test for Hawaii is in the OOC and once they get through that they just roll. I wonder if bjschumacher will remain at Hawaii or will he make his way to the mainland, I would not.

Might it be safe to say that the elites are now back at the top of the hill in the ACC. FSU and the Hurricanes will be meeting in the CC. Both programs were tested this season and managed to come out smelling like a million bucks. I think in a few seasons we are going to be expecting more from these two programs. Both coaches have had enough time to get it together and make a run for the NC, I feel. I know FSU is a tough spot and that might take longer time to make a run. Things will need to fall into place for them to really make a run, especially in Wilk.

I have stated that I want Troy State to make the NC game and that was not a popular opinion and I do not care, I still want them to make it. Troy has been doing well this season and I think they will continue to do so. If an elite opens up I think the coach will be in the running for the position but he said he will not leave until he wins a NC with Troy. Troy will have to beat Navy in their CC, they already played them earlier in the season and only won the game by a single possession. Beating a team twice in a season is very tough so this game might be up in the air, but I am leaning heavily towards Troy State winning it.

The national champion will be coming out of the Big East, well most likely. They have the top two teams in the country and when they meet in the CC, one will knockout the other. It will be a game to keep an eye on. The coaches like that pass game so we might have a shootout in this game. Shootouts are always fun as long as you are not in it. I am not in it so will be loving it. I know Rutgers still has the 'Cuse, nothing against the 'Cuse but Rutgers has just been rolling and I expect them to continue to do so. The two coaches have an even series between them, but I think z32 will take the led in their series. I think even if Rutgers does not win the CC, they still make the NC, they are so far ahead in the rankings points. DePaul needs to win out to give themselves a chance at the NC. So a lot to play for in the Big East.

Truedevil take son Hypnotoad and there is no surprise there. They are the best two coaches in the conference. I think the trend we have seen in the last few seasons of these two team meeting in the CC will continue as long as the conference makeup remains the same in terms of the coaches. Now who wins between the two of them, I do not know. With this engine,I have to lean towards Houston because of their shotgun offense. TD has had enough time with it to have it figured out by now.

Florida wins and they are in, Tennessee wins and they move up but might not be in. The Vols would still need to win their CC to have a chance at the NC, the story is the same for the Gators but they are close to the NC berth, so they just have to win. The Vols will need a lot of help. Imagine jasonfreeman going to multiple programs and winning the national title at each program. That would be impressive in my book. It would show that he does not need much to get his ideas implemented and just reap the rewards. If he Vols make the NC it would also be a bad indictment on their former coach, though he has done well with the Mizzou Tigers.

The story in the MAC has not changed since the last we had a bleep about them. Ohio is looking on track for that 13-1 season and to do so would mean they have to win out. If they win their CC they will be in either a level 4 or 5 bowl and if they are there they will be facing tougher competition and that might dent the chase for the 13-1 record. Ohio will have tougher OOC next season ad if they go 13-1 next season, that would be more impressive.

In the PAC-10 as mentioned before it is USC's conference to lose. They dominate the conference on all fronts, recruiting and games. The have been dominating on a consistent basis since jasonfreeman left. I think we might need him to come back and check the Trojans or maybe have the other coaches step their game up and stop them.

That is enough of that, until the next time, take it easy.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page