top of page

Season 140 Playoffs


Well guys, I'm sorry I didn't get anything up for the conference title games. I have been a little busy. I injured myself and have had appointments like crazy. Things are healing and fine, my birthday and all of that shenanigans is all over. It was my intention to always do something for the playoffs but I wanted to get more in during the season. Like I said though I have a new "spark" so we'll see if I can translate that into content next season.

RD 1 Interesting games:

Grambling State vs Jacksonville State - A 4 vs 5 matchup here so of course it's an intriguing matchup. This game features a perennial playoff participant against a JSU team who is on their 3rd coach in six seasons and just looking for some stability to get them back to the "glory days." Neither of these teams were extremely competitive in their losses this season. They combined for 4 losses with a 19-point or larger margin of victory. Neither of these teams have made a deep playoff run and with the winner having a date against Ark PB I don't see a deep run this season either. Both teams look very even statistically so be sure to check out the WIS Cast for this one on you St. Patty's Day morning.

Dayton vs Texas Southern- This interesting game from the South region features a 2 vs a 7 seed. Now at a glance this game doesn't look like it will be interesting at all. WIS stats prove otherwise. You have a Dayton team who is finally living up to expectations and they do battle against a Texas Southern team who has seen better days. It took me a long time to get on either coach's band wagon but both have done nice things to prove to me they have what it takes to succeed. These two teams were pretty competitive in their losses on the season, another break or two and these two teams could be 1 seeds.

Stephen F. Austin vs Youngstown State - From the East we feature my personal favorite matchup of round 1. These two teams have been very solid for quite some time but I have to honestly say more is to be expected of them than 1st and 2nd round playoff exits. The key in this game is going to be SFA's defense which is always stingy against the YSU offense which has always been known to put up points. Both teams have JR QB's who have made some mistakes on the season but they will have some of the load taken off by studly RB's. Both starting backs on these teams have rushed for well over 2000 yards on the season.

Villanova vs Cal Poly - Another 4 vs 5 matchup coming to you from the West region. Another example of the winner going to have a quick playoff exit in the next round. For this game though we feature a couple of teams who come in as... wild cards. Villanova's losses all come from top 5 teams which looks great but then you look at their wins and they have 1 win against a playoff team. Cal Poly comes in with 2 losses, one to a MS Valley St team who didn't make playoffs but then two games later they pull a stunner over current #8 team Delaware State. Which "team" will show up for these teams tomorrow?

All of my RD 1 playoff predictions can be found HERE!


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page