top of page

Rankings Maze


I'm surprised as can be. I did not see this coming. I can not believe it. It is a pleasant surprise too. I think this cuts out any excuses anyone has. This shows me I have a long way to go in figuring out this game. I thought I had somethings figured out and but this has shown me that I do not. I guess it is back to the drawing board. I think this is a good thing because it means I have learnt something new and that means I have not wasted time. Have to keep learning.

I guess I should say what I am talking about. I am talking about them WIS rankings. They have a mid-major sitting at the top of the mountain. They are there two days running. This says to me they deserve to be there according to WIS. I have not been paying attention to Navy. I had a Navy team in Rockne and I never sniffed around the top 25. I am happy to see Navy sitting at the top spot. I think this kills the thinking that the GD gods only like BCS and elite schools. Navy has knocked off some good coaches and programs on their way to the top spot. They have a strong SOS, which I think will only improve as the season goes on. There is a chance that they make the big dance. I would be so happy if they did.

Right behind Navy is a BCS, South Carolina. They jumped all the way from 9th to 2nd place. That is a big jump, which I think has become normal in Wilk because of the strength of the world. Everyone is beating everyone so that SOS is always in flux. One day you jump from 9th to 2nd and the next you might find yourself in the teens even if you win. Minnesota is still sniffing around the top spot. They got bumped a spot and are just hanging out in 3rd. They now embark on a stretch of games that can either drop them back in the rankings or boost them such that they will be a lock for the big game. The stretch of games includes facing, nortonis, roxy, paulsuberlak and lyonzfan. That is a heck of a stretch. We will find out what Minnesota is made of in this stretch.

The Trojans have designs on defending their title and making it to a third straight national title game. They are a bit far back based on the points system used for the rankings but like I said before the SOS is always in flux in GD. I think they will win out and make the big game. Who they face is the question that I think will intrigue the community this season. They have a stretch of 5 human coaches, not just regular human coaches but good coaches. We have hookem, NatiDawg, hitman, awaskow, katz. Any of these guys can cause an upset for the Trojans but for my money the Trojans get the job done.

The Wolverines had a signature win today against the Nitty Lions. I have to admit I did not see that coming based on the last few seasons results. It was looking like nortonis had lyonz's number in games. I think this game might have given lyonz a lot of encouragement and intel on what works against nortonis. I am also sure nortonis now knows the weaknesses in his team and those will be plugged with great gameplan adjustments. I think when these two face off, it is like playing 3-D chess.

I think this is a nice stopping spot. I am loving this season thus far. You best believe I will be paying attention to Navy from now on. They might do something incredible this season. Until the next time, take it easy.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page