top of page

Signing Maze


I usually enjoy my Saturdays, but Saturday signing day in Wilk is the most stressful day ever. I dread logging into GD. I usually check my other teams once I log in, before checking on my Wilk team. Maybe I just need get it together and jump in there and make a plan ASAP. No point in delaying checking the emails because they will not change. For the Maze today we are going to look at the classes that have been signed up at the time of this post. We might talk about a few battles as well.

The first class I will talk about is the Sooners class. I went and looked at this class first because blitziscomin has given us a few Maze articles were he has shared a few nuggets about his approach to the game. He recently talked about recruiting and so I was curious about his class. I was impressed by the guys he has locked up already. He has a few guys waiting in the wings as well. He is currently only locked in a single battle for a LB with Arkansas. The LB looks decent but is a bit slow for my taste, he might be used to clog up the middle in one of the many defensive packages blitziscomin runs. Blitziscomin can I please borrow the QB you snapped up for his underclassmen years. He looks like he will be a problem once he wins the starting job. The kid has the right stuff, high WE, GI, STRENGTH and he is athletic. He has a good enough GPA to be able to pick up the playbook quickly. Saw that you also brought in some good OL to keep your QBs upright and open up holes for your RBs for when you decide to run the ball. Paul Madden is going to be a problem for QBs. He is going to cause havoc upfront for you and he will have solid players behind him like Philip Morales. From the players the Sooners have signed up I think it is safe to say blitziscomin knows what he is talking about when it comes to recruiting. I have never doubted it.

Another school worth looking at is Rutgers. The reason I wanted to look at them is because I always see z32fanatic all over the country and I am always curious to see what he ends up with. He is always on the best recruits across the country and I always want to know does he lock them up. This season he needed 11 and has 7 signed up thus far with a few battles on hand. I love love love Brandon Rodriguez, he is a solid RB and should produce for the Rutgers team. The other players Rutgers has signed thus far are okay, I do not think they are something to write home about but I do not know they potential and they could develop to be studs. Rutgers is in 4 human battles and of those 4 the one with Syracuse and Maryland is the one I think might be fun to see how it goes. Maryland might be in trouble. They have only signed 3 when they need 8. They might be leading all they battles for all I know. With all the cross country trips the Rutgers coach makes most of the guys he is on are within his 360, there is a guy who he picked up from more than 1500 miles away.

Everyone knows awags likes to have a great stable of QBs and he is locked in a battle for a great QB with Tennessee. The young man is within their both their 180 and that means nobody has a distance advantage there. Both coaches had the same number of scholarships and bowl money, so they started off with the same amount of money unless someone had some carryover. There might have been a difference in the spending habits. Awags is on more players than deenhorvie, I do not know if that will come back to bite awags or not. This is a battle to keep an eye on. I know awags is under the weather and I wonder if that will have an effect on the outcome of this battle. I hope you get better soon awags.

John Lucas has gt_deuce and laswell going at it for his services. There is no distance advantage between these two schools for the boy, but there is a difference in the scholarships available and most likely the bowl money. With that difference I wonder how the battle will go. My money is on UConn because of the scholarship advantage. The two coaches are locked in another battle for Christopher Howard for the same position. I wonder if they will end up just splitting the two young man or will someone get greedy and go balls to the wall for both young man.

Treyomo and coachoatie going at it for a studly WR. James Norman is most likely to be able to catch anything and outrun every coverage you throw at him. He has speed and elusiveness for days. This young man would lift any offense to new heights and whoever wins this battle will have a special weapon on their offense. Everyone knows CJ loves a good battle and for one against the reigning national champs he went all the way to Utah for a WR. Frank Johnston will terrorize defenses for the next four years and I hope he ends up in Colorado because I do not want to have to face him with my Golden Bears.

With the proximity between the two schools there are bound to be many battles for players. There is a battle for a LB between the Golden Bears and the Cardinals. The young man they are duking it out over is a solid guy. He would improve both teams when he walks on campus. Stanford has had the better outcome in the battles between the two coaches, especially last season. Wonder how things will go this year. The same two coaches are going at it again over a DB. They seem to both have defensive needs. Ronald Lewis looks like he can be a shutdown corner. He might be Lewis Island. Has all the attributes you want in a DB and that I think this is the reason both coaches have their eyes on him.

Now with close proximity between schools like this I always expect a few scraps for players unless you are recruiting for different positions completely. I went looking for battles between schools that were close to each other and one that I could not find was between USC and UCLA. I would have thought there would be at least one. I remember when I was with the Aggies there would be a few guys I would go at it with Texas, I won a few and he won a lot. Now the lack of this battle surprised me a bit. USC went long distance for a few guys, he went to AZ for a few guys and UCLA is in a battle with hookem in AZ for a guy. I think we might have a situation were the coaches have figured each other out completely and just stay out of each others' way and because of that I think we might need to hear from them on how they did it because I need to know that so that I stop losing battles to Stanford.

I hope everyone gets their recruits except the coaches I am battling against. I hope they do not win their battles at all. I hope this adds some flavor to your weekend and until the next time, take it easy.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page