top of page

Too Much of a Good Thing?


Is there a thing as too much of a good thing? Or is it just the viewpoint of those with bad things? I am not sure I have the answer for this or maybe there is no answer. If there is one, please let me know. I am going to talk a bit about the Big East in Wilk. This conference has been the talk of the world for a while now and I am one of the people who have talked about them. They are an interesting conference and I think they have a few things to teach the rest of the world.

Firstly the conference is loaded with talented coaches, they are seasoned vets who have seen it all. We have coaches like, peter_61, z32fanatic, gt_deuce, husker111, ebel331, ozzzball19. Everyone has heard these names before, they are always in the conversation when it comes to legendary coaches. Their resumes speak for themselves. The other coaches are also great and hold their own, in the conference. At the beginning of every season you never know who is going to win the conference. In most conferences there is a handful of teams you expect to win the conference but not in the Big East. Everyone has a shot at the title. To win it you have to go through a tough road too. Before even winning the conference you have to win your division and that is a hard job in itself. Whichever division you look at, it is a tough road to that title game.

Now if I am looking at all of that I ask myself do I want to put myself through all of that? Do I want to put myself through the stress of facing all these guys to try and make the conference title game? The game is supposed to be an escape from real life so it should not be stressful but on the other hand, the competitive juices start flowing and you want the challenge that comes with facing these guys. It is a tricky situation, I think. But I think them juices win out and you join the conference. I got to thinking about this after seeing that there were two schools that had not been filled, Colorado State and Cinci. These are nice spots in my book. I know at CSU you have to deal with CJ, just shine some bright light at him and he will go back into the shadow so as not to get sunburn and you can have the state to yourself. He does not stay too long at a school, so he should be out of your hair soon enough. With regards to Cinci just through your elbows out a few times and you will get your guys locked up because there is enough to go around in Ohio. I was at Akron and managed to pull a few decent guys. Being in a conference with good coaches also might mean a lot of bowl money you can use to flex your muscles a bit in recruiting. I go back and forth on this idea though.

Now I said "Too Much of a Good Thing" because did the conference get loaded with too much talent, such that it sacred some people from taking the open schools? I think so. People have seen that it is tough to survive in this world and let alone in a conference packed with talent. I might be wrong about this but I just figured let me throw it out there. The conference is stacked and that might be daunting to some coaches who like winning and see other options were it is fairly easier to win at. The conference might need to drop a few coaches so that they do not eat each other up and knock each other out of the running for big games. With such a tough conference you have to be GREAT to win out and give yourself a shot at the big game or even a level 4 or 5 bowl. You want to make those for the big lump some of bowl money but if you are just beating on each other it becomes tough. This might be another reason coaches have not filled those two schools which I consider good spots in Wilk.

Other conferences might learn from this experiment. Do you want a completely full conference or one with a few openings that allow you to make the big bowl games and just get tons of cash. I might have all of this wrong. The Big East schools are also close to each other especially those in the East division, so they doubly beat each other up, on the recruiting trail and in games. Another way of looking at all this is to say if you join, you will be learning a lot from these guys as you play them. Steel sharpens steel. Take the losses as lessons and an opportunity to improve your game. After you have picked up a few things you can always move to another school and apply those skills. Another thing that the conference has going for it is they do not have an elite in the conference, so everyone (WIS system wise) is on the same level but with the coaches, there is obvious separation of man from boys. From looking at the conference right now, there are 3 elites in there and a few teams that are semi elite.

In most worlds I have found that if you want to work your way to an elite pick a school in the Big East and you will get good recruits and a good resume. No elites in conference play and most of the schools are located in recruit rich areas. In Wilk it is a different issue though. You just have to be an elite coach to get an elite. Was it too much of a good thing to have a full conference with stud coaches? What can we learn from this experiment? That's enough rumbling, until the next time, take it easy.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page