top of page

Return of the Maze


You read the headline right. The Maze is back from the wilderness. Thought the masses needed a break from the rumblings of a mediocre coach. Usually you want to listen to the great coaches because, well they know what they are doing. You also just want to watch the mediocre coaches so that you know what not to do. Like most people who play this game, I give it all I can but sometimes I just fall short but I keep chugging.

I am on my 4th school in recent history, not sure what that says about me. I think I will give it a good go at Cal unless something better opens up. Though in Wilk it seems like awesome schools do not open up with a lot of frequency, because the coaches at the schools considered awesome are really good. There was little movement at the D1A level this off season and I think this has been true for a while now in our world. Usually coaches either leave the schools voluntarily or get fired. I think this past season 3 got fired, which is sad but gets to show how hard it is in Wilk. With coaches getting fired it opens up spots for some coaches. We saw the return of hookemhorns7 to the world and takeover at Arizona State. The previous coach just got fired from there and with that in mind I say to hookem, good luck. Hookem has been M.I.A from the world for almost 10 seasons and I am sure he will find that the world has changed a bit. With all of that said, I know he will do his best to make ASU a formidable program.

I am going to keep focusing on hookem, because, well, I can and I want to. Hookem has three teams and the other two are good teams. The other two include the dreaded program of Florida State over in Hayes. He has built them into a formidable program and I wonder if those skills will be able to translate to Wilk. Wilk is a different animal from Hayes. I am sure in Hayes he will keep winning because he is a good coach. I wonder if he will bring over the formations he runs over at FSU to ASU. They have worked for him in Hayes and I think he has a good understanding of them and would want to run what he knows.

I think hookem has a few things to answer for, his name is hookemhorns7 and yet he says his favorite program are the Cornhuskers. Explain that to me. I know some will bring up that I coached Oklahoma in Yost when I am a husker fan, and I say to that whatever. It was an elite and I could not pass it up. I also thought I could do what blitziscomin has done with his Sooners team, I was unable to do so in the four seasons I as there. Another question for hookem: if you have to pick between the Longhorns and the Huskers, who would you pick in WIS and IRL. You have to pick one and not dodge the question (I know you).

ASU starts the hookem reign with 4 Sims in OOC and that should be great news for hookem in terms of number of wins but will suck in terms of SOS come the sharp end of the season when you want to be ranked and in the running for bowls. As a PAC-10 member we will need him to hit the ground running in terms of bowls so that we can get some bowl money and go east for scraps. I have faith in hookem and his ability, actually more faith in him than in myself.

I took a look at your starting QB and his formation IQ is low for a senior and that might cost you come conference play with all those humans. You have a studly RB who should be able to carry you to a victory or two. You have a WR you can chuck it to, and decent TEs. You will need to load up on your skill positions to challenge USC and the other teams in your division, heck conference. Arizona produces a few studs every few years so you should be okay in that regard. Both your lines should hold up and keep your QB upright and knock the other down. You need to load up on LBs and recruit smart for DBs because you have weird numbers there.

I was going to send hookem a few questions for this profile but I figured, nah, I am just going to wing it and rumble along. This has gotten the juices going and I think we will get back into the groove of things here and keep them Mazes coming. Be on the lookout for an unwanted profile from me about you. I hope everyone is enjoying the playoffs as I am. I think we should leave it here, until the next one, take it easy.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page