top of page

D-1AA Maze


Today a decision was made to switch things up a bit. The Maze will put together thoughts about D-1AA. It is a level that the Maze keeps an eye on but never puts the thoughts that come from the eye keeping, on paper/screen. I had to get permission from the D-1AA guru JAG to do this and I want to thank him for letting me dip my toes into his pool. We are going to try and go through each conference and talk about some teams.

The Tribe under look good again this year. I know that is an obvious statement but it had to be made. The last two seasons they have been stopped in the semifinals and I think this year they will make the big game. There will be some tough games along the way but I think they will make it. Maine with chetty need to get back to it. Last two seasons have been very under par. Even with his high standards I am sure he wants to get things back on track and there is no time better than the present.

Texas State under coach phimutau will be making a run for the title this year. This is all old news to everyone but someone has to say it and here I am saying it. Hopefully I am not jinxing anyone. This year I think he makes the semifinals at least. He has too, it's phim. St. Mary's has the ability to make a bit of a run in the playoffs. SchoolyWe has the ability to take this team to great heights.

Coach sternes9 and his Youngstown State team have the potential to make some noise. How much noise they make is tricky to know, but I hope it is a lot. They are in a recruit rich area but there are a lot of schools around so maybe they do not get the creme de la creme of recruits. He has been here for a while and I think it is time for him to make a big splash. jddriscoll will be a tough game in the playoffs and whoever faces them will have to really apply themselves when they gameplan for him. He will be a tough cookie in the CC game let alone in the playoffs.

Yale needs to yell. They need to start throwing their weight around, seasoned coach who has put together the program. sjurat is a good coach and he likes his wishbone formation which I think would throw a few for a loop as it is not a common formation to gameplan against. With this is mind I would think he has an advantage but thus far the opposition has managed to stop him. Princeton with all the brain power on campus have yet to make a big splash in the playoffs. I think they might need to recruit a few more smart guys on the team and establish an analytics department.

JAG is undefeated, what is going on in the world. JAG is my guy and I am happy for him. Now I am going to let the world know what I expect of him. I expect him to at least win his CC and make the second round of playoffs at least. It is about time he did so in his rebuild. It has been fours years already. nitros is firing on all cylinders already and JAG is a good coach and I think it is time he made the second round of playoffs. JAG the pressure is on now.

Robert Morris makes the second round this year, and they retain their CC maybe. It will be their second time making the second round under the current coach. Retaining the CC might be tough with graham1958 on the other side. He is in his second year and is already looking like he will be a contender for the CC every year if he remains at Central Connecticut.

The OVC has some studly coaches who are all ranked as of the time this was written. They will all make the playoffs and I expect three make deep runs in the playoffs. The CC will be between mraston vs whoever wins the last game on the other side. Once past the CC, like I said three of these guys have the potential to win it all. Which three? I leave that up to you. I can't do all the work.

Dayton will make the playoffs but I do not expect them to make much of their adventure. They have the potential to win their CC but that might be the highlight of their season. SchoolyMe and his Drake boys might be pumping some Drake joints in that locker room on their way to the playoffs. How far will them joints take them, maybe second round if they are lucky. Drake might be too soft for locker room music though which might just mean first round and vacation.

Georgia Southern lets go. It is time to show whachu got. It is time to reach that potential everyone has seen in you all this time. I expect at least a second round appearance from GS. jay9 has been doing research and I think armed with the new info he might make a run for it. He might be carrying the hopes of the conference so no pressure jay9.

The SWAC has swag. What has happened to me I am now using the word swag. I am sorry gents, I am embarrassed in myself with that. I expect the quarterfinals to be packed with the three ranked coaches and programs in this conference. I think there is a chance that one of them wins it all. They are that good in my book. There were doubts about vikesrule69 but with the roster now being mainly his, he has a chance to turn those doubters into believers. Fourth years of the rebuild and I think nitros is ready to flex his muscles again and get his title back or at least make a deep run.

Well there you have it. The rumblings of the Maze about D-1AA. Until the next time, take it easy.

PS. We need the answers for the puzzle from the last article and here it is:

Across

  1. california

  2. tcu

Down

  1. nortonis

  2. bigeast

  3. ten

  4. texas


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page