top of page

Conference Maze


Yeah I am back kids. Settle down or else I will be leaving again. I wanted to give everyone a chance to just take it the start of the season. That also includes me. I have to take things in before just writing. Need to see how things are going to determine should I write anything. And I am glad to say thus far there has been something to write about. You might be asking yourself what do we have going at the Maze this year? We are going to try to do some number stuff and some opinion stuff, you know the usual.

We are going to look at the conferences according to how they are ranked in the first rankings of the season. According to the initial rankings the Big 12 is the best conference and by a good margin. This should not surprise anyone. The conference is packed with, blitziscomin, bkdries, jasonfreeman, the D-1A CoY hypnotoad, cjsweat, arcadecowboy. That is a lot of talented coaches. Nobody in the conference has a losing record, they are all above .500. That is a nice start to the season, the question is will they keep performing like this or not. I doubt we will have the national champion from this conference. Nothing against the coaches but I think everyone knows this. The OOC and the conference play for the Big 12 will kill you.

The Big East is the second best conference in Wilk. I would have thought they would be the best with a full conference. This will probably get worse once conference play starts as the coaches start clobbering each other. The conference is loaded with talented coaches, though there have been some questions about the OOC scheduling by some of the coaches. The conference has two coaches below .500, which is kinda impressive. Once the conference plays starts things should get more interesting. Will the 'Cuse make another run for the NC? Are they the kings of the conference? Will the new coaches step up and challenge? Can they challenge? Which coach will be leaving the conference come the end of the season?

PAC-10 takes the initial bronze medal. They have some good coaches in the conference and they have come to play, well some of them. The Arizona coach does not have a single win thus far and that is not a good start to the season, there are four undefeated coaches thus far. This conference is due for a team to go back to the NC. Which team? I have no idea but I am leaning towards Cal. I think they will continue to dominate the conference, the Trojans will put up some sort of fight but I think Cal has them covered. Natidawg needs to start throwing his weight around in the conference, he is always referred to as a good and we need to start seeing it in the conference play, it is time to make the CC.

The conference that will give us the national champion comes in fourth place. The conference gave us the last champ and will give us another this year. The only question is will it be the same champ and I say yes, why not? The conference has seven human coaches and four of them are ranked. Come on you three, let's make it a full seven. Three coaches are undefeated but I think that might change once the conference play starts. I remember at the beginning of the season there were rumblings about the current champ doing it again with his QB stable being young and thus far I think he has showed he can do it with whatever stable of QBs you give him. Is it too early to start talking about a dynasty? What constitutes a dynasty?

The ACC has only a single team below .500, I am including Sim AI teams here. That is somewhat impressive. I know once conference play starts this will change. The NC will not come out of this conference. There are a few coaches who are trying to build programs in this conference and I think this might be the year they breakout onto the scene. I cannot put my finger on who will dominate this conference at this time, maybe in four or so games we will have a clearer picture of who runs things in the ACC. Too many good coaches to have the conference this far down in the conference rankings.

awags has been trying to recruit more people to the conference and he got one new coach this past off-season. I wonder if he will put on another recruiting campaign this coming off-season with the promise of a large lump some of bowl money. The coaches in the conference are all above .500 and I think this will be the case the entire season. I have a suspicion that awags will try to dethrone the current champ. He is always sniffing around the sharp end of the rankings. It has been a while since the Gators threw themselves around in the NC talk. I know there is trouble brewing for Butch Jones and might it be the same for deenhorvie? A single conference title in seventeen seasons, we need more from you coach, we know you can do it thus the pressure for you to do more.

The MAC is the best of the rest. Way to represent guys. We added new coaches to the conference and they are doing well and this might make the conference more fun. We added the maverick chrondon to the conference and he has run a few programs close already thus far in the season. I know the record does not truly reflect how well chron has done thus far. I expect him to do well once we start conference play. I hope we get a few more coaches in the West division to try and balance things out and also maybe get the conference a bit more bowl money, hopefully.

C-USA is the second best mid-major in the world. The conference has some good coaches. We have TD taking over a juggernaut in Houston and things have not worked out smoothly to start his season. I am not sure who will win the CC like I used to before. Things seem to be up in the air now in the conference. This is the time for the other coaches who were not in the running for the CC to step up and get some silverware.

Everyone loves the sun but do they love the Sun Belt? Well the WIS gods do not. None of the coaches in the conference are ranked in the top 25, all but a two coaches are above .500. I think there is room for the coaches to creep up the rankings as the season goes on. The conference has a sprinkle of good coaches and I expect a lot from them. I expect a lot from all coaches. A few coaches are in rich recruiting grounds and thus should have talent to run the conference. The conference I feel can add maybe two more coaches and become more competitive within the conference which should in turn help the entire conference.

The WAC according to the rankings is wack. They are in the basement with regards to the rankings. The prop the entire world. Come on guys we need some movement in the basement. There is a lot of fun things to do out of the basement. The conference has a single loaded division and it has some good coaches. The coaches in the conference need to go on a recruiting campaign to get more coaches on the other side of the conference.

We might have to come back and look at these rankings at the end of the season. Until the next time, take it easy


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page