top of page

Jabbering JAG 135.8 (The Champ Speaks)


After winning his 3rd straight national title I thought it was time to finally catch up with our recent 3-peat coach. A coach who has been looking to make his mark in Wilkinson and he has definitely done that. The Texas Southern dynasty sure seems to be in good hands. Check out our conversation below.

What is your real name?

My name is Rick Sullivan

Was there anything specific that drew you to Texas Southern?

I wasn't planning on moving, but couldn't pass TSU up. TSU seems to be a nice recruiting spot. I do have to worry about Houston(D1A), but still seems to be plenty of recruits to go around. You had been to 3 teams in 4 years before TSU and have moved quite a bit, do you plan on staying at TSU long term?

Yes plan to stay.

Anything you took away from the Northern Iowa game that helped you the rest of the season?

Northern Iowa really shut my passing game down, so had to switch it up in the 2nd half. Maybe would have gone all run, but is hard to tell what will work sometimes.

Were you nervous at halftime vs Georgia Southern? Did you think your team had what it would take to finish the comeback and get the win?

I was a little nervous at the half against Georgia Southern, but decided to go more with my Senior QB, since he was having a better game.

In the NC game were you expecting to have THAT kind of leas at half? Was there something different you did in that game?​

I was very shocked at the half time score and really didn't do anything different from my other matches. Sometimes in this game you just rely on luck

Which of the 3 NC runs in Wilkinson was your favorite?

This one was probably my favorite, since it was more my team, but if I can repeat next year that would be sweet.

Is there a team or coach you "worry" about when it comes time for playoffs?

The OVC has a lot of good coaches, but any coach that makes it to the NC is a coach to be weary of. Anything is possible, but each season it gets tougher

Do you think TSU can continue this run of dominance for much longer?

I have 16 recruits to get next season, so that is going to be a test. Especially since i will be in Cancun on vacation during recruiting. As most coaches know who have played for a while, getting to the NC game isn't easy.

What do you have to say, if anything, to the media members (myself included) who doubted your ability to maintain success at TSU?

I did pickup a good caches NC team, but winning three in a row should say something.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page