top of page

Knockout Maze

Now before we get into it I just want everyone to be ready because we are about to get it in. I am going to be throwing wild thoughts out there. I am going to be talking about who got knocked out of the NC berth already and also who I think will get knocked out. I will be talking spicy, and I know some of you the spiciest thing you have ever tasted is salt so be ready because this will be up there on that Scoville Heat measure. It is nothing against the coaches but as you now in the Maze we like to rumble a bit and today we take it up a notch.

First and foremost the defending champs are out. They will not be making the title game to defend their title in my book. They are out by a single point, they were in a tight game which did not go their way. The LSU Tigers decided to show their teeth at the Nittany Lions and the Lions did not want any part of that. Think about this, LSU has a mascot that is endangered whilst Penn State has a mascot that is extinct. The endangered animal I think always wins against an already extinct one. Why would you pick an extinct animal, that would be like picking a dodo as you mascot. You do not do that, you use them in the expression, "dead as a dodo".. From the result of today's game I think the chances that Penn State retain the title are dead as a Nittany Lion. Now Penn State has an outside chance of still making the game but it's way outside. They still have a decent schedule, the still have the Wolverines on their schedule with lyonzfan, the new Wisconsin coach who is a good coach. There are still a few hoops to jump through to make it back. In my book they just need to concentrate on retaining their Conference title.

I have been told that gator shoes are nice, or even gator wallets. I do not own any but I have been told. I have been told that gator meat is also delicious when cooked right. I am willing to try it just to see for myself before ruling it out. Now the Florida Gators have been turned into a pair of shoes in terms of the National Title berth. I know they have 2 good wins under their belt thus far but in my book they are already out. With the gator shoes they are meant to be gettin to steppin. They have a favorable schedule the rest of the way but I doubt they will win the conference so that again will be a knock against them in the running for the big game. They still have Tennessee and South Carolina on their schedule and those two games are tough ones. It has been a while since they won a title, even the CC, let alone a NC. I think they will be waiting one more season.

I am not sure they were ever in the running but we will count them out regardless. The Vols are out of the running they could not even get past Rutgers. Now it was a close encounter do not get me wrong but the Vols have not been known to be in the running for anything other than a good record and some bowl wins along the way. They do not feature much in talk for National Titles or Conference Titles under their current coach. Now this is nothing against the coach but the proof is in the pudding. The have a single conference title in 15 full seasons. They are in a tough spot, recruiting wise and also conference wise. Things have only gotten worse because of the addition of a few good coaches, yeah I am talking about you awags. I am a believer that steel sharpens steel so I think the coach will only get better as the season go on, well hopefully get better.

This was a tough one to go with but I think the Sooners are looking in. I know they also only have a single loss but with their schedule their SOS might just help them. The SOS will only help if they manage to win their remaining games, and those games include going up against awags, jasonfreeman, and bkdries. Now those are some tough games. They drop another game then it will be really game over. For now I think they have been knocked down and they can beat the count off the canvas and maybe make the National Title game. They will need to be flawless in the remaining rounds. In my opinion it is not beyond blitziscomin to win his remaining games but it will be a big ask. There is a blueprint on how to beat him already from the loss to Penn State. In recent times the Sooners have had problems with beating the Longhorns so this things might be tricky again. I never count out blitz, so I would not be surprised if they end up not being completely knocked out.

I think it is safe to say Notre Dame will not be going back to the big dance. They are completely out of it. They are not getting off the mat, the ref has counted them out. They were caught with 3 big punches. The first was just a softener, but the most recent was the one that brought the stars out. There is now way the Irish comeback from this start. I doubt they will make the Conference Title game either. I wonder if they will be much of a factor this year. I think the coach might be distracted from fake football. Real life is more important so I am not worried as I know he can turn it on anytime.

The Trojan might be in the same as the Sooners. They are looking in and to be in they need to win out and that might be a challenge looking at their remaining schedule. I do not doubt the ability of the coach but there are some tough games left on that schedule. AT least they do not have to worry about a jasonfreeman led Cal. They still play jasonfreeman recruited guys but under new leadership. The SOS will need to be in their favor big time if they win out, or even if they drop another game. I think the era of undefeated teams might be over in Wilk so they just need the SOS to help them out a bit and they will have a chance, not a big one but a chance none the less.

Now let's talk about who has their knockout punch coming. First up is Pitt with bjschumacher. Even if they win all their OOC games, they are still in the Big East and we all know that it's like a bucket full of crabs in the Big East. As one coach tries to climb towards the National Title game, they will come across another coach who will beat them and bring them back in. The conference is loaded with top notch coaches such that I can not see anyone going undefeated in the conference and with that I think it is safe to say Rutgers you day is coming as well. You know what, let's just say all the current undefeated coaches your day is coming as well. I doubt anyone will have a single loss come the end of the season, I think all the coaches will have at least to losses, just the nature of the beast called the Big East.

Colorado with the new coach, Nebraska with the new coach, I am sorry guys but I think you will each have more than a single loss on your resume and that will keep you out of the running for the National Title game. One of you is going to make the Conference Title game for sure, which one well, use your imagination. Texas might have just out punched themselves out of the big game because of scheduling. I am not sure they will be high enough in the rankings to be a factor come the sharp end of the season if they win out. They might be in the same place as last season, close but not close enough.

The Buckeyes have yet to play any team on note and when they do I think they will be found wanting. They will lose to the better coaches and programs down the line with the first big test being the game against South Carolina. If they get through that one they still have to get past Penn State and Notre Dame which are not easy humps to get over. I think your knockout punch is just a matter of time away, it's coming. Wisconsin will come down to earth after a great start. I see at least two losses on your resume this season. Given enough time I think you can turn your team into a contender in your conference but might take a while longer on the national stage. The Wolverines have a signature win under their belt and they will need a 3 more to be a lock in the National Title game. They get through the next 3 games and the second conference game then I think they are a lock for the big game. But those 4 games I have highlighted are no joke. They will be tough games that will require everything to be on point, from the gameplanning to the luck of the engine, to the favor of the WIS gods. Eve with a loss I think you might be in but you would have to win your Conference Title game.

Houston and new coach truedevil33 ave started well and need things to continue to go their way for them to be in the big game. The only knock against them is the SOS, it might not be good enough come the end of the season. I can see them going undefeated in truedevil's first season. If it comes to them and Texas being undefeated I think the WIS gods will go with Texas, I am sorry to say. Just win out and give yourself a chance TD. Bowling Green will not factor at all in the National Title game even after beating 3 Sim AI team. I know some of you will say they beat Sim AI teams and that does not mean anything, well I have seen coaches lose to Sim AI teams. I have lost to Sim AI teams. Alabama and LSU will definitely knock each other out as only one of them can make the Conference Title game to increase their odds of making the National Title game. Now who knocks who out, I have no clue but I will be watching.

I think that is enough knock out stuff. It is too early in the season to be thinking that far anyway. Who does that? Let the rankings come out first before trying to make predictions, right? Again this is nothing against the coaches and programs I have talked about. They are all fine coaches. Until the next time, take it easy.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page