top of page

Maze Run with AJ Part 3


The new season is right around the corner and the Maze is back in full force. To get things going we are going to sit down with a familiar face. We are sitting down with the young man Aaron "AJ" Jones. Everyone should be familiar with him already as we have sat down with him before. It only seemed natural to sit down with him again to get his thoughts now that he has committed to a team.

MR: Hey AJ, how goes it?

AJ: It goes...

MR: How have you been?

AJ: I have been good. Trying to get used to my new environment. You know moving into the dorms and stuff,

MR: How did that go?

AJ: It went okay, had help moving in from some of the guys on the team, the running back, Keith Hall. From the few days I have spent with this guys I know I will enjoy my time in school

MR: What makes you that?

AJ: He is super smart. He knows the playbook already and has been talking to me about how he will want me to hand him the ball and also throw it to him when comes out of the back field.

MR: Wow...

AJ: And he also likes to have a good time. He is always playing pranks on the other guys but when it is time to study he gets serious and is always available to help the other guys. I am lucky to have him as my roommate.

MR: Lucky you...

AJ: Yeah I know.

MR: So you decided to go to Austin

AJ: Yeah, they are the school that made the most sense. They are loaded with talent and I want to make my mark with these guys. It has been a while since they won a National Title. I know they made it to the big game a few seasons ago, I want to carry them there and win it for the school.

MR: The team is always loaded with talent, what are you going to do to stand out?

AJ: I am just going to do my job. I am going to work hard and do what the coaches asks of me to win games.

MR: I just read the wires and it says that you have been redshirted?

AJ: Yeah, I talked to the coaches and they said it would be best to save a year of eligibility and learn the playbook and improve my skills.

MR: When do you expect to be on the field?

AJ: I think in my junior or senior year I will be given the reigns of the offense and will try my best to lead them to a National Title.

MR: That sounds like a good plan. Now were there any other schools that tried to get you to their campus?

AJ: I am sure there were a few coaches who came to a few of my games but non really made a serious attempt to get me to commit to them. Texas was always at the top of my list.

MR: What do you expect of you team this season?

AJ: The target every year is always a run for the National Title and winning it. So that is the target for the year.

MR: Well with that, thank you for taking the time to talk to us.

AJ: Not a problem, it was my pleasure. Good to see you again.

It was a pleasure to talk to the young man. It is always fun to talk to him. We hope things work out for him at Texas. He is under the supervision of a great coach who nurtures talent well. We have a few good games coming this season and the Maze will be there with you. We will look at other things as well as the Maze always does. Until the next time, take it easy


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page