top of page

Jabbering JAG 133.3 (Coach Interview)

Apologies for the lack of content. It has been an interesting season so far, I'm especially intrigued with DIA right now. While keeping up with the home run derby I had time to catch up with a long time DIAA coach. Dukelegend has William & Mary looking pretty solid again this season.

Name: Keith Martin Current Location:Raleigh, NC Age:42 Favorite Sport(s):NFL Favorite Team(s): Washington Redskins, Virginia Tech Hokies Favorite Level in GD: D1AA Why did you join Wilkinson: Originally I do not remember why, it was probably one of my many cases of getting an itch to experiment and then not having the time or attention span to dedicate to it, Wilkinson stuck. I came back for the content and community and to see what 3.0 was like. I do not understand the WIS business model, there are so many things like content managers that could greatly increase the games population. What do you like most about this world/what keeps you here: See above, content and my OCD is focused on WIS at the moment. I keep adding a 2nd team though and losing interest in it. What do you like least about this world: Population could still be higher especially at D2 and D1AA. We are starting to see what happens with a fuller D1 level. If that is going to continue to grow we need coaches in the wings to take over former human ran programs and more "fallen coach" landing spots with human rosters. Toughest coach for you to beat in Wilkinson: chetty this go round, I think I am 4-10 or something like that. Biggest rival coach in Wilkinson: I would not say I have a rival at this point. I play cj whenever he is in D1AA so perhaps Red. Philosophy when putting together non-conf games: I want to finish the year with at least a top 10 finish. This ensures my recruiting vision and prestige stay at a competitive level. I will pretty much play anyone-anywhere at this point. What drew you to the conference you're in: Teams I recognized from growing up in SW Virginia. W&M was open after a couple of seasons of acclimation to the engine so I moved back. What drew you to your current team: Follow up form above. When I was at W&M the first time I recruited very well and for a period of 23 consecutive seasons had a top 10 rated GUESS roster and #1 roster 12 of those years. I changed offensive and defensive game plans perhaps in the single digits during that span and I wanted to see if the engine offered more versatility this time and if I could be more of a game planner. Why have you been there as long as you have: I really do not like D1A and prefer the playoff system. I also suck at recruiting at D1 and have not been able to replicate the same recruiting success at lower level. Taking crap D1 jobs does not help any either. I like rebuilds... Do you plan on leaving anytime soon: If I could win a NC at W&M again I would look at moving somewhere in D1AA perhaps. Wont be leaving for a while now. I came back and ran a WB offense for 4 years and then transitioned to a Trips attack. I am just now getting some game planning things worked out and experimenting. Do you think the A10 will produce a NC within the next 2 seasons: I would say the A10 has as good a chance as anyone right now. chetty is always tough, W&M is competitive talent wise for a NC and kas is a good coach at Nova with proven NC coaching in other worlds.

Thank you for taking the time to do this Dukelegend. Wishing you and the Tribe the best of luck the rest of this season!


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page