top of page

Maze run with Coach ozzzball19


I told you guy this season we are going to step things up in the Maze and boy have we done so. We managed to get a sit down with the legend himself coach ozzzball19, 12 national titles and 117 conference titles (more on the way) and everyone make sure you get the correct number of z's in there, it is 3 not 2. It is always fun to get to know the other coaches a bit better and in this interview we get to do just that. We get thoughts about the game and other things.

Q:How did you get into GD given so many other options out there? And have you tried any of the other options out there?

A:I was watching my son play something similar on I think playstation and thought it looked like fun. That same afternoon I saw an ad for WIS on TV, went and logged on the computer and signed up and I was hooked. Q:How did you come up with the name ozzzball19?

A:The name comes from how we referred to my youngest when playing ball. His name is Austin and we call him Ozz. Ball is from baseball and he wore #19 at the time - Hence ozzzball19 Q:What about GD keeps you here?

A:I am now retired so it fills in some free time. I actually don't think I spend as much time with the game now as I did before though. I guess I tinkered with it more at work than I thought, but don't tell them that. Q:How has the game changed since you joined?

A:When I first joined I remember it being a run oriented game engine. Now it seems like the pass is favored heavily by a lot. I try to run more of a balanced offense though I guess. Q:What is your favorite part of this game? And obviously what is your least favorite part of the game?

A:Favorite part would probably be recruiting. Although I don't think I am a great recruiter I still enjoy that part. Least favorite is probably game planning. I don't spend near the time on that as I need to. My teams all run pretty much the same offense and defense. Q:What would you like to see be improved in this game: As far as recruiting?

A:Maybe lessen the advantages elites have. Although in some cases I am not sure that is as much of an advantage as some think. Maybe look at what Hoops has done with recruiting and try to do something similar. Have any recruiting advantage depend on the success or failure a coach has with a school. As far as game planning?

A:Maybe more options for setting up your offense and defense? Heck I don't know. Haven't thought about that and even if there were more options not sure I would dig into it deep enough. As far as the simulation?

A:Not really sure here. it is a simulation and you can only do so much. I think I would like to see a playoff system in D1A like the other levels. As far as realism and all the other bells and whistles?

A:Possibly align the conferences more to how they are really set up. But then you would have uneven conferences and that might not work as far as the simulation goes. Q:How many teams do you have and why that many?

A:I currently have 4 teams. No real reason to the number. With what time I spend on them I can do what I need in a short amount of time. Was thinking of either adding one more or dropping a current team and adding one in a world I am not currently in. I think its Dobie where I have quite a few wins or more than I have in a couple of the current worlds I am in. Q:Why have you picked the schools that you picked, through time and the one you have now?

A:I grew up in Oklahoma and moved to Texas several years ago. So OU and Texas are my two favorites. No real reason for picking most of the others. Q:Which school would you want to coach if you could and why?

A:I would say Texas. My youngest played ball there and I now follow them more than any other. If I had to drop all worlds but one I would keep my current Texas team. Q:Why the recent return to the Wilkinson world?

A:Wilkinson is the most active world with their blogs, podcasts and all of that. Plus a couple of guys I know are in Wilkinson so I went back to compete against them some. Q:Why Navy out of all the possible teams you could have started off with?

A:Not sure what all was available when I took Navy but I thought they would be a good challenge to see how I could do with them. That area of the country seems to be a fairly fertile recruiting area with the number of recruits available but you also have a lot of teams to compete against. Q:How is life at the D-1A level in Wilkinson?

A:Its different than in other worlds in my opinion. In recruiting it seems like there have been more undecided's to begin with I guess because there are more human coaches. So you seem to be up against more coaches rather than just beating off sims. Or at least that seems to have been the case. I have only recruited twice so still figuring things out some. Q:Are there any personal reasons to take certain teams?

A:As mentioned earlier, Texas because of my son having played ball there. Other than that, not really. Q:When job openings start, how often do you consider moving?

A:I check in most worlds other than Warner when the season ends to see what might be available. I have Penn State in Bryant and check there at the end of each season. I would like to try USC or get Texas in that world but they are taken by long term coaches, but I still check. Q:What are your hopes with your current team after the tough start to the season?

A:With Navy I just hope I can manage enough wins to get to a bowl game. I only have 5 seniors so the hopes aren't too high there. I scheduled 5 OOC human coach's because it helps with the strength of schedule. I had hoped to come out of OOC being 2-3 but doesn't look like that will happen. But I would rather schedule the human coaches than just play sim teams and possibly get wins. Q:How far do you plan on taking the Midshipmen?

A:Hopefully in time I would like to have them compete for a CC each season and get into the top 20. Of course I would like to do much better than that but I do have to be somewhat realistic. Q:What is your favorite world and why?

A:Probably Warner just because that is where the Texas team is at. As I get back into Wilkinson I will try and enjoy everything that goes along with that world also. Q:What coach do you hate having on the other sideline and why do you hate seeing them on the other sideline?

A:Oh gosh, that would be a long list. Off the top of my head three come to mind right off. Ben(mcbeth), pete(pete61) and arcadecowby. Ben and Pete just have my number. I get lucky every now and then but not often against them. arcade has Ohio State where I have Penn State so we play each season. He is tough. And in that world Michigan and Notre Dame are also tough. And now that I start thinking of that world tangobear is at Boston College. He is a tough one also. I think the all pass teams are tough. Actually in some ways easy to game plan against, but you just never know if it will work or not. Q:What coach do you love seeing on the other sideline and why do you love seeing them on the other sideline?

A:I wont say I love seeing them on the sideline but Jeff(babcick) and Jay(tnjay) and I probably talk more than I do with anyone. So just playing them is always fun. Q:What would make you just drop the game all together?

A:I guess if I just couldn't keep up at all. I could see dropping down to one or two teams but not dropping it all together. But I guess you never know. Something could always happen or come up. As I have said I don't spend as much time with the game as I once did. I play golf about 4 days a week now and I also have a grandson a year old. So if he starts playing sports on weekends and such if I just didn't have time I could see cutting way back. Q:What is the best advice for new coaches that they probably can’t find on the forum?

A:I would say just ask questions. People are willing to help. I know I am but there are many far better at offering advice than I am. Just ask.

Again many thanks for doing this. Thanks husker - enjoyed it.

We have more interviews lined, I am sure you guys get tired of reading my rumblings, so figured why not give the people a break and let them get to know some of the coaches in our wonderful community. Many thanks coach ozzzball19 again for doing this. Everyone keep an eye for his Navy team, I see a bright future for them. Until the next time, take it easy.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page