top of page

Confession Maze


We have a new season and it is always good to start off by talking about events that are so far into the future such that making predictions is useless but like everyone else I am going to do so. I hope recruiting went well for everyone and you all managed to get those blue chip recruits. The recruits you are betting your dynasty on. If you did not get them then I hope you hired the right kind of help in your assistants to get you some decent talent to challenge in games.

Let me start off by addressing the fact that I now find myself in Florida instead of Texas. I know this might have come as a surprise to most, if not all of you. It was a decision that I had been contemplating for a while. It was either quitting Wilkinson or dropping down a level and I enjoy the community we have in Wilkinson too much to quit. We have podcasts, two of them which is two more than any other world. We have multiple writers who always deliver. We have very active conference chats. I always love active chats, they provide excellent drama at times, check out the Leahy Big 10, customer service has deleted some of them messages. It was awesome stuff, blitz, ebel, you guys should consider a Leahy podcast or something.

So dropping down it was, I might continue to drop if I keep realizing that my skills are not up to par. My skills had allowed me to peak with the Aggies and I realized my peak performance was not good enough for the program and thus I left. I could have stayed and just done enough to keep my job I think. It is more difficult though now in Wilkinson, the competition is vert stiff. I had reached peak level in terms of recruiting and everything else:

Looking at my record above I might have been out of my depth. I figured let me drop down and try to sharpen my skills with the D-1AA coaches. I have also been consulting with great coaches and I advise everyone to find themselves a few coaches to get some knowledge from. Now dropping down is not meant to be disrespectful to any of the D-1AA coaches. I know there are some excellent coaches at this level. I liked dropping down and trying my hand at the play-off system were you never know. Get the rub of the green and you might find yourself in a big game.

I want to believe that under the right circumstances I will return to the D-1A level once I feel my skills are good enough to compete and also if the right school opens up. Let me also say sorry to coach arcadecowboy for the roster I left him. It is a poor roster and I hope he is able to turn it around and have the Aggies competing as they should with the big boys. I know he has the skills to do so and will be doing so soon enough. To my new conference mates, please take it easy on me as I work on my rebuild and also can you please make deep play-off runs so that I can enjoy that play-off money.

Enough of me rumbling. We should be back to the usual Maze runnings soon. I am liking this season already. The Longhorns were upset by the Eagles. I did not see that coming. I expect more of that this year from everyone. Show up to games and be counted because i won't. We are going to have some new stuff for you to sink your teeth in, some nerdy stuff for you. Until the next one, take it easy people.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page