top of page

Jabbering JAG 132.5 (Coach Interview)


Well on the heels of huskerfan doing a coach interview I thought this would be a good opportunity to get the Jabbering JAG seasonal coach interview in. This time we feature the longest tenured coach in Wilkinson DIAA. Panthsho was willing to answer some questions for me...

Name: Kyle Panther; that's where the ID comes from. Always think your IDs out before you create them. It is panth-sho. The amount of people that think it is panths-ho is comical to me. I live in Charlotte and the last name is Panther, but I'm not that diehard of a fan. Current Location: Charlotte, NC Age: 36 Favorite Sport(s): College Football, Soccer, Golf Favorite Team(s): Alabama, University of Dayton, Miami Dolphins Favorite Level in GD: D1AA Why did you join Wilkinson:

I joined season 1, so I'm sure it was just because it was the next world to open up. What do you like most about this world/what keeps you here: So many people put in extra time to add things to the world, media guides, podcasts, dachman's bubble watch, etc. It takes it to an extra level beyond what it would be without. Plus my conference right now is a lot of fun and getting better by the season. What do you like least about this world: My winning percentage. Toughest coach for you to beat in Wilkinson: Definitely nitros. I'm not really at a level where I'm trying to beat him, I'd be happy keeping it close enough so my fans aren't leaving at halftime like it's a Kansas football game. Biggest rival coach in Wilkinson: 1lanceman. He and I played 5 seasons in a row in the last 3 weeks and we are both usually right on the bubble. It's been a pretty even rivalry the last half dozen seasons and having a playoff birth on the line adds a little to the games. Philosophy when putting together non-conf games: Usually 2 Sims, 3 humans. 2 humans I think I can beat at least 60% of the time and 1 human who is a step up to test my team, but it depends on what I can find for humans. There are a ton of good coaches at this level so there are no cakewalks. What drew you to the conference you're in: I grew up in the Midwest and always liked the Bayou Classic between Grambling and Southern. When I moved up to D1AA Dayton wasn't open (my alma mater) so I picked Grambling. I don't think there were any other coaches in the conference at the time so it was about the team, not the conference. What drew you to your current team: See above, when I couldn't get my alma mater I went after one of the few D1AA schools I had actually seen play on TV. Why have you been there as long as you have: I never really planned to stay this long. As I mentioned I really wanted to coach UD early on, but it wasn't open very often at the beginning and I wasn't a good coach (still am not all that good). After a few years at GSU I decided I wanted to stay until I won a playoff game (season 56!) but by the time I did that I liked being at GSU and decided to stick around. Do you plan on leaving anytime soon: No. This conference has picked up a lot in the last few seasons. Nitros is the 2 time defending national champ, dachman is always good, 1lanceman and I have a good rivalry and mdodge and bubba are bringing up some former bottom feeders quickly. We are a top 5 conference and I believe that will be improving quickly. The guys are active and fun to coach against. Nitros is always a good one to help with advice too. I float in and out on how much I pay attention to the game (check my history for proof of that) and I'm in right now, which has made it a lot of fun.

Thank you so much panth-sho :) for taking the time to do this with me. I am sure everyone will enjoy this one from one of the very very few coaches who have been around since season 1 in any world. I wish you and Grambling State the best of luck in the last couple of games and beyond!


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page