top of page

Maze Run with JAG


Back again with another sit down. This one is with everyone's favorite guy, justaguy. As the headline suggests we have a little run with the legend. Figured the people would want to hear from someone who is just a guy. With all that said I had a virtual sit down with the guy himself, below are the results of that virtual sit down. I hope you enjoy.

Q: How did you get into GD given so many other options out there? And have you tried any of the other options out there?

A: I really started playing WIS for the free hockey exhibition seasons and then stumbled upon GD and I had to try it. I have always liked EA Sports NCAA Football and so this was the next closest thing and I loved the opportunity to have to start at DIII and work your way up.

I have tried a couple of other simulation games. I did the Greydog football game. I have played pigskin empire as well.

Q: What about GD keeps you here?

A: I like to watch football in real life so this is a great way to get a fix on football year round, plus I get to make it my own and the success and failures is on me. Plus being from Nebraska I didn't have much else to do when I first started this game. Q: How has the game changed since you joined?

A: I have been around since 1.0 with my hookemhorns6 and hookemhorns7 accounts so I have seen the game through it all. I have taken a few breaks here and there. Overall the game has changed from favoring the 4-4 and 4-3 on defense to Nickel and 3-4 become more viable. Also in 1.0 everyone ran wishbone and ran as many times as they pass now in 3.0. Q: What is your favorite part of this game? And obviously what is your least favorite part of the game?

A: My favorite part of the game is recruiting and post season (CC games and on).

My least favorite part is Wilkinson recruiting and losing close games in ways that seem "unrealistic" but that kind of thing happens in real life as well. Q: What would you like to see be improved in this game:

  • As far as recruiting?

A: In recruiting I think pipeline states and being able to scout players by state not only distance would be nice.

  • As far as game planning?

A: I actually like gameplanning as it is, I think it provides plenty of options to make it a challenge but not too many options that it becomes cumbersome or overwhelming.

  • As far as the simulation?

A: The simulation I also think it good. I think defensive touchdowns would be a nice addition.

Q: How many teams do you have and why that many?

A: I currently have 4 teams. I like that many because it provides an opportunity to conduct experiments and keep you busy pretty much every day but it's not too many that you forget who is doing what... at least in theory. Q: Why have you picked the schools that you picked, through time and the one you have now? Which school would you want to coach if you could and why? And everyone wants to know about your next move, where are you going? Don’t be a tease

A: The current teams I have are because the 2 FSU teams are because they just happened to be the first elite I could get. Butler is a recent pickup because I really wanted to try that recruiting area, I'm not super familiar with the IN, MI, IL recruiting. PSU I had visited the campus in real life and it was right after I was burnt out at Cal Poly. That situation accompanied by the fact I didn't want what lyonzfan had built to go to waste. The two schools I would love to coach are Texas, obviously, and Nebraska. I had Nebraska in 2.0 but dropped it because I was terrible when 3.0 first came out and I figured I would get myself fired. My next move still isn't for sure. It will still be in DIAA but I have narrowed the list to 6 teams and am still assessing specific situations. When I know, you guys will know... possibly. Q: As far as was there any personal reasons to take certain teams?

A: I almost always have personal reasons to take teams. I look to move quite frequently so if I can find a team that I can find an "attachment" to that really helps. I look for teams with real life connections or a challenge or a fan of in real life. Hence why I am taking my time with my next move. Q: When job openings start, how often do you consider moving? Are you going to move up? People want to have the best coaches move up and compete. If you move up what team will you take?

A: Like I said, I am almost always looking for a new or better job, something fun. I do NOT plan on moving up in Wilkinson at this time but if I were going to I would look at Fresno State or Arizona State. Q: What schools would you like to coach the most?

A: Texas and Nebraska Q: What are your hopes with your current team? Why did you pick PSU, because they are way out there. How do you find recruiting there? And everything else out there.

A: My hopes in my last season at PSU are to make playoffs and hopefully make a 2nd round or further run. I would like to go out with a solid season. As stated above, I chose PSU because I had visited the campus in real life while on vacation and liked it so I used that situation to impulsively coach them. I knew lyonzfan had put together a solid roster here and I wanted to capitalize. Plus I think at one point in NCAA Football I had inputted Portland State into a DIA conference and so I played my dynasty as them on the X-box. Recruiting up here is something else, I have never really been in this situation before. On the recruit distribution it shows that PSU has 59 players within their 360. In Wilkinson it is worse because I have the likes of WSU, Boise, Oregon who are constantly taking the best players so I have to look West... way West to find any other talent and that gets expensive. So I try to set my sites a bit lower and go for potential and then try to use my remaining budget to go find some studs who are still looking at sims. Q: How much do you buy into the conferences challenges out there?

A: I love conference challenges and I think they're a lot of fun. I remember in 1.0 or early 2.0 the OAC in DIII had one with the WIAC and that went for many seasons. I am sort of bummed to be leaving PSU right on the cusp of the OVC v Big Sky Challenge but like CJ and TD said... maybe it's time to cut my losses. I am pretty sure I have maxed what I personally can do at PSU. Q: What conference gives you headaches? And which coach gives you headaches?

A: The OVC gives me a headache just because they have been so dominant in Wilkinson and they still run the table now. Trying to unseat them is extremely difficult.

Coaches that give me headaches are for sure phimutau, him and I always go back and forth and we have split the last few games. Nitros is also another coach I play regularly who I can't ever seem to beat but I usually keep things pretty close. The whole comradery in the Big Sky is always fun and there are quite a few great coaches who have caused me problems... especially lately. Q: What would make you just drop the game all together?

A: Constant frustration would make me leave. If I can't find even enough success to get CC's I would probably drop the game as I'm not "getting anything" for my money anymore. Also if GD became so dead it wasn't fun anymore, I would probably leave. Q:What is the best advice for new coaches that they probably can’t find on the forum?

A: The best advice I can give is... take time to learn this game. It's not like EA Sports NCAA Football where you can just wing it and be successful at both recruiting and gameplanning. In this game it takes time to learn and be successful at BOTH aspects of this game.

I would like to say many thanks to JAG for taking the time to go on a run with me in the Maze. Thanks for taking the time to read through this Maze run and many thanks again to JAG. Until the next time take it easy everybody.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page