top of page

Ranking Maze


What a time to be alive. People getting laid off at ESPN and movement in the rankings. Don’t worry, we won’t be laying off people at the Maze. We plan on keeping the team together and keep moving forward and try to improve. We are also more than happy to add onto the Maze team, so if you want to jump on the team do not hesitate to get in touch. Back to the football, did you see all the shenanigans in the world today? Wowzer, plenty to talk about there, we will just touch a bit of it. We will try to look into the future again, because well we can and nobody will bring any of this up in the future.

We have all played the out of conference games and we have our second day of rankings and things are looking interesting. We have a few teams who are unexpectedly high up in the rankings and some way too low, but it is early in the season so expect way ore movement in the rankings. I am going to come out and say it, I did not expect to see South Carolina and coach treyomo sitting pretty at #1. I think he might have found some inspiration from the South Carolina basketball teams, they had unexpected runs in the tournament and I think the football team doesn’t want to be out done so look out for them. The Gamecocks managed to defeat the Buckeyes handily today. All the Gamecocks have been on the road and the coach has been building a team over in South Carolina, I think we can now expect to see them throwing their weight around. Now I am going to be honest with you guys, I think the Gamecocks will drop in the rankings as the season progresses. They have some tough teams to go through this season, then again, they might just run the table but I doubt it.

The Wolverines are coming, the Wolverines are coming. They must have received some blessings from their visit to the Pope. They managed to knock off the Longhorns today, which is no easy task. The Wolverines have managed to beat 3 of the top 4 teams in the BIG 12, yeah think about it. They managed to beat the defending champions and then just kept it moving. I think I might start drinking the Wolverine Kool-Aid. They have been sniffing around the last few years but this might be the year. The highest ranked team with one loss are the defending champs and thy just chilling in 3rd place and I expect them to remain close to the #1 spot. Their SOS always helps them stay close to that spot, they challenge themselves every year and they deliver. In the rematch of last year’s national title game, they still managed to win the game by a single point. The Sooners managed to stop Cal from scoring a TD, yep you read that right, they stopped Cal from scoring a TD granted there was only one TD all game. I did not give the Sooners much of a chance to get back to the big dance with their young QB group, but they are just getting it done. I think coach blitz is showing you that he is the real deal.

Baylor under the leadership of coach arcadecowboy just knocked off Colorado State who were ranked #2. Baylor is playing lights out, they have faced tough opposition and come out the other side smelling right. Baylor still has some tough games to come and I wonder if they will remain in the upper echelon of the rankings come he end of the season. The coach has been here for a while and has been building steadily and I think this is the year. We have mentioned Colorado State already, they have a packed conference schedule as expected with a fully filled conference. This tells me if they continue to win their games they will be sniffing around the top spot this year but to be able to do so they need a better performance than the one they on against Baylor. I am afraid to say but I do not even see them winning they conference this year but I have been known not to know anything.

The Big East is ranked as the best conference in the world followed closely by the SEC. This makes sense, the Big East is packed with great coaches and so is the SEC but the Big East is packed. There is a drop from the power conferences to the mid major conferences which is kind of expected but with the world filling up I think things will even out a bit as time progresses. The WAC props every conference in terms of rankings, they just need to fil them Sim AI schools and I think they move out of the basement. They might need to put on a charm offensive in D-1AA to have coaches move up and join them. There is also a big gap between the Big East and the PAC-10 in the conference rankings which surprises me a bit, how big the gap is that is. It is early in the season so I am sure the gaps will close as the season goes on. It’s always good to keep an eye out on how the conferences are doing so that one knows what conference to join when looking for some tough competition and challenge yourself.

That’s enough of that. Now we are about to set off on the conference road as people try to set themselves up for a run at some silverware. I wish everyone luck in the conference play except the guys I play. I fully expect to see more movement in the rankings after every game. It will be fun to keep changing who I think will make the big dance, but in the in between time take it easy people.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page