top of page

Maze Run with Coach blitziscomin


Yeah, you read that headline right. This is not click bait. Coach blitz is a runner and I thought we should hear from some of the runners out there. Now not only is coach blitziscomin a Maze runner but he is the current national champ. It is always good to just pick someone's brains. I ask a lot of questions because there is always room to gain more knowledge on everything. With all that said I had a virtual sit down with the reigning national champion, below are the results of that virtual sit down. I hope you enjoy.

How did you get into GD given so many other options out there? And have you tried any of the other options out there?

  • I came to WhatifSports over ten years ago because I enjoyed playing Madden Franchise mode and wanted a similar experience against human coaches. I played the NFL and NBA games first, and then migrated to Hardball, Hoops, and Gridiron Dynasty.

What about GD keeps you here?

  • I enjoy the challenge of building a team. I love how fast things change. The players I am coaching right now will all be gone in 3 months. Coaches move frequently. It is very fluid. Your great team is only great 1-2 seasons if you lose recruiting. I left Hardball Dynasty because I found very little enjoyment after I would build a championship team. I knew that team could stick together for 10+ seasons so I left my dynasties shortly after winning the first world series.

How has the game changed since you joined?

  • I started in Rockne in Season 25. I took over the last remaining sim team in a conference. I went 0-13 and 1-12 my first two seasons. That would be hard to do now.....lol

What would you like to see be improved in this game:

  • I actually approach all games on WIS the same way. As long as the game is fair for all coaches I really don't have many issues. I feel like part of the challenge is figuring out what WIS has given us and find an edge.

As far as recruiting?

  • Recruiting is by far my favorite part of the game. It involves a lot of strategy. Experts in recruiting can consistently destroy weaker players out on the recruiting trail that will eventually show up on the field. I know some coaches think the recruiting cycle is too long, but I really don't have any complaints about recruiting. I used to think it would be fun if WIS changed the recruiting budget to how the budgeting is in Hardball Dynasty: assign budgets for scouting, coaches, and recruits (higher scouting budget would reveal more recruits and have more accurate player ratings / higher coaching budget would increase the rate player development)

As far as game planning?

  • I am one of those crazy nuts who feels very limited in the amount of playbooks and formations we can save. I wish we could have more of each.

As far as the simulation?

  • I think the simulation is fair for all coaches. Sure it can seem crazy sometimes, but watch college football any Saturday and tell me there aren't crazy events/outcomes.

As far as realism and all the other bells and whistles?

  • I want like to see two things changed: (1) I want to see a playoff for D1A. I think that would reflect how the game has changed in real life and (2) I would limit how many seasons you can stay at D3 and D2. I think we have hurt ourselves by allowing coaches to stay in D3 and ruin the game experience for less experienced coaches. Go look at the Top 5 coaches in D3 Press Ratings. Those five coaches have more seasons experience, conference championships, and national championships than I do as the defending D1A Champ. How do we expect new players to love the game when they aren't allowed to face fair competition in recruiting, game planning, scheduling, etc.?

How many teams do you have and why that many?

  • I have 5 teams: Wilkinson, Bryant, Rockne, Leahy, Dobie. I have five because I try to make sure I am always recruiting and always playing/game planning. These 5 seem to give me a good balance and limit my downtime.

Why have you picked the schools that you picked, through time and the one you have now? Which school would you want to coach if you could and why?

  • I started Wilkinson D1A at Texas Tech so I could learn up close from Texas and Oklahoma. I applied to Oklahoma because I wanted to stay in the division. There are only two jobs I will apply for in Wilkinson if they become available: Penn State and Texas. I think I could build a monster program at Penn State with all of the local talent and go on a 10 title in 15 season run. I also think 5-6 other coaches could do the same. If Penn State becomes available and bkdries gets that job I would probably apply for Texas. I can't see any other scenario of me leaving Oklahoma unless I get fired. I never consider leaving for any other jobs.

What are your hopes with your current team, now that you have won a national title?

  • My hope is that I can continue to compete for the Big 12 championship and go to a Level 5 bowl for the next several seasons. This current team is the weakest team I have had in 5 seasons, but it is still a great team.

What does it take to win a national title? What secrets can you spill about the make up of a champion?

  • You need to be able to put your team in a position to win a national championship. Improving recruiting and game planning takes time --- more time than coaches think. I had a goal to win the NC 30 seasons ago and it took me this long to get things to fall together.

  • Scheduling for SOS is a large part of winning the NC. I had better teams in Seasons 127, 128, 129 compared to my NC team in 130 but SOS worked for me in S130. Another important thing is winning the 50/50 games. There are several games each season where I know they are basically a coin flip. Each team and coach is great. You have to win all of the 50/50 coin flip games.

Do you think you will be able to repeat? If not who or what would stop you?

  • Not this season. I lost a stud QB and RB that will be replaced by younger players. I lost 2 stud LBs and 2 stud DBs that will be replaced by younger players. I play Florida, Michigan, and California in non-conference and I don't think I will get through those undefeated.

What game do you circle on your calendar as the one that can wreck your season?

  • Texas, as always. I am looking forward to the NC game rematch with California also. I'm curious how my latest stud LB will match up with his beast RB.

What is the best advice for new coaches that they probably can’t find on the forum?

  • Spend time mastering the game if you want to win. Challenge yourself to become the best recruiter and game planner. View game planning and recruiting from rival coaches perspective to learn. Be curious with how game planning and the engine works.

What are your thoughts about the coach with the Aggies? He seems not to be able to recruit or gameplan?

  • I can't pass this question up......lol. The Aggies coach needs to learn how to defend against the Shotgun offense and learn how to avoid battling elites on several recruits each season....lol. I have a great amount of respect for anyone that can show up in the backyard of Texas and build a top 25 team each season! GL this season!

I would like to say many thanks to coach blitziscomin for taking the time to go on a run with me in the Maze. I think the Aggies coach should pay attention to the wise words from coach blitz, because the Aggies coach doesn't know a thing. There are some golden nuggets in there for everyone to pick up and hold on to. Thanks for taking the time to read through this Maze run and many thanks again to coach blitziscomin. Until the next time take it easy everybody.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page