top of page

Offensive Position Maze


Back at it again. About to bring it back like a DJ contest. I am getting back into the swing of things, so the writing might not be top notch as I get back into the groove. Today I think I am going to rumble about what positions I think are the most important and also just ask some questions in general. I will need some answers from you guys. It is like I always tell you guys, I do not know jack, and if you guys who jack then please let me know about jack.

It is recruiting time and the battle lines have already been drawn. With that in mind as I always say, you need to know when to battle and who to battle against. I definitely know who not to battle, you know who you are you coaches in Texas. You guys make me HATE recruiting, I always have to change my strategy with you guys and ooh I see you national champ, I see you in Texas too. I hope we get more coaches in the Big 12, there are a few good open spots were there are a lot of good recruits. Look at Texas Tech, wide open in Texas were we have plenty of recruits to go around and we also have Iowa wide open so you can pick up Iowa State, there is only on school in Oklahoma, so why don't you pick up Oklahoma State. Come on guys pick them schools up, I am looking at you coaches moving up from D-1AA. Let us have another conference filled with human coaches like the Big East. Things are going to be interesting in the Big East with all those human coaches.

Okay, enough of that. This was supposed to be about player positions. We need to know what positions do you need to have filled at all times. Obviously, everyone will say the QB position is the most important position. But is it, really? You do need to have a QB, though I have seen a team in one of the worlds without a QB. I do not remember the record for the team but they did not have a QB. Most coaches including myself will say you have to have a good QB on your roster to win some games, though my friend coach chron will say no you don’t. Coach chron only runs the ball so maybe he does not need a QB. I hear you say who hands the ball off then? I do not know, so please coach chron please do let us know how it would work without a QB on the roster. We miss you podcast by the way, bring it back. I always lose QB battles to other coaches, I try not to fall in love with QBs but if the numbers look good I am going to fall head over heels with a guy. I think if you speak with one of the greats at this game in coach awag, he will tell you that the QB is the most important position to have filled with studs. Having a good QB will allow you to throw the ball more but someone has to catch the ball, right? So do I need to have a stud QB or a QB who is good enough.

Now having a stud QB can carry you far but you have to have a good crew around him. If I pick up an alright QB and stud RBs who can run it and catch it out of the backfield, can I win it. Coach chron will swear that you have to have a handful of stud RBs because they can do a lot for you. They can block for you, they can run the ball and they can catch the ball for you. So, should you place more importance on the RB or on the QB? The QB can only throw the ball for you whilst the RB can do 3 things for you. Now I am not saying any RB is better than a QB, the attributes have to be right for the RB for him to be able to be more important than a QB. Now when recruiting you have to take into account distances from you to the recruit, so if there is a stud RB a bit away and an alright QB close, who should you go for. I say get that stud RB, though my own advice has not worked well for me (the Aggies have been in decline since I got here).

What about them tall RBs, were do they rank in importance? I do not know. I think it depends on the formations you run and always what kind of offense you want to run with your formations. You can just chuck it to the RBs or TEs. Now you know they are just tall RBs, so that means you can use these guys in the run game if you want. I have seen some coaches use them in sweeps and they work okay for the most part. Now are the tall RBs more important than the regular sized RBs, nah I do not think so. I put the RBs ahead of the WRs. Now with that said, WRs are important too because every formation has at least one WR in it. You want to make sure whatever WR you get they can catch the ball, it would be nice to have them be fast and elusive so that they can just catch it and avoid the defense through their speed and elusiveness.

Now comes the questions of TE. Where should they rank? For me they are at the bottom of the list of the player we have looked at thus far. These guys are also versatile like the RBs, you can have a blocking TE, catching TE or a well-rounded TE. The blocking TE has to be similar to the OL out there. Now should everyone carry one? I do not think so, it all depends on what type of offense do you want to run and what kind of defenses you will be facing. Now if you face coach blitziscomin like I do every year you want to have some extra blockers in there as you know what he is going to be doing from his name. Who should you have doing the blocking, between the TE and the RB? I have no idea, please someone let me know. I have asked some questions before but nobody ever got back to me. # SAD Should you throw to the TE over the other two possible receivers? If you have a stud TE who is able to catch the ball better than your RB or WR, then why not. If you throw a lot to your TE then you might want to rank him higher then the WRs but for my money, naaaahhhh. What you need to have is a TE who is well-rounded, a TE who can do everything because it becomes expensive to recruit strictly a blocking TE or strictly a receiving TE. Try to go for a well-rounded TE more than the other two kids of TEs, but again this all depends on what you are going to be running.

Now bringing up the rear on the offensive side of the ball are the big guys. The OL are important but you should not be battling too much for them. They keep your guys in the backfield upright and they open holes for your run game. They are an important piece of the jigsaw but the other guys are more important in my view. The only question with these guys are what attributes should you be looking at the most when deciding who to target. What is the lowest acceptable level for those attributes. Someone should let me know the attributes to look at and the lowest acceptable numbers.

So now you have ranked these guys, how many of each should you carry? I am still trying to figure that out. I think it depends on what you are trying to run on offense and based on that and what is available when you are recruiting you decide how many of each you should be bringing in. Now all that is above are just the rumblings of one person and that means I could just be talking out of my you know what. We will bring you the other side of the ball tomorrow.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page