top of page

Maze Level 5


Greetings people. It has been a while but we are back like we left something. I hope everyone has been doing well, winning games and watching other games. Have we had some games to watch, boy oh boy. There have been some upsets and comebacks all over the place. I have been keeping track of things from afar because I had me a game to get ready for, against a great coach. I now have some spare time to kill. Today we are going to look at the level 5 bowl games and these include the national title game.

The bowl game has a new sponsor, so we have anew color scheme, but it is still the Fiesta Bowl. Even with the new sponsor I would still pull out the Tostitos chips and some dip. Not sure what kind of dip though so am open to suggestions so hit me up people. Now back to the game, we have 2 elite schools with elite coaches. I see fireworks in this games, I mean 4th of July type fireworks. We have blitziscomin taking on nortonis, come on people. That is rarefied air of coaches, HOF coaches right there. They both have the same record and someone will be picking up an extra loss and you know how the math works, someone will be picking up an extra win. Vegas is saying the money is on Michigan by 12, I don't know man. I have played the Sooners and they are for real. They went through a tough schedule, same with the Wolverines but that Sooner schedule was a tad bit more tough. These teams have faced each other already and the Sooners came out on top 47-28, even though they had less yards and less first downs. The Wolverines could not convert those 3rd downs and they need to rectify that in this game. They could not move the ball on the ground well and I think they might need to figure that out to take the pressure off their QBs. The Sooners moved the ball efficiently in the air and on the ground. From what I know it is difficult to beat a team twice in a season, the second time around the losing teams figures it out. But in this game I think it might be too much for the Wolverines, I am going Sooners.

I think the picture is worth a thousand words, so this section will not be a 1000 words. We have the undefeated Pitt team going up against the Tigers of LSU. The LSU coach has the most wins in Tigers history in Wilkinson and the Pitt coach in his 3rd season already has a CC at the school. This tells me that both coaches know what they are doing and the game might go one of 2 ways. They can put on a show of offensive power or it can be a defensive Titanic battle. It can be like 2 bull elephants fighting and when that happens the grass always loses. I always prefer the option of the offense putting on a display like this:

Everyone can see what is on show and they can decide if it is working for them or not. If you put on a display like that I think you should be able to go home with the price. So offenses put on a show and let us see what you are made of, let the engine who in this case will be the lady bird decide on who, put on a better display. I like the Tigers because they tend to do a bit of throwing and running and for me that is the better display. But the Pitt boys might put on a better display. We shall see, but Vegas is with me on this one.

Next up we have the Rose Bowl. Roses are beautiful and all but they have thorns and thorns will prick you. I do not like getting pricked but in this case I think getting a prick would be okay if I would end up with the win. We have 2 teams that have faced each other before and it went horrible for one, but now they have a chance at redemption. They have seen what the other team can throw at them and now they have a chance to bloom like a rose and show the world what they can do. They have a chance to be a thorn in the side of the other team. Virginia Tech got beat to a pulp in the first game. They had 3 turnovers, less yards, less time of possession. Things just did not go well for them against that Hurricane team. This is a second chance to tame the hurricane but I do not think they will be able to do it. The coach is only in his first year and he has not molded the team into something likes yet, I do not think. The smart money is on the Hurricanes to blow them away once again.

We did not have enough sweetness of these two pairing up. We need to have them go at it again. It is another PAC 10 showdown between the Trojans and the Golden Bears. Last time the Bears mauled the Trojans. The last game between the 2 was a bit loop sided towards the reigning champs, the Bears. The Bears seem to have the number for the Trojans and I wonder if that will continue in the Sugar Bowl. Usually I am not a fan of teams in the same conference meeting up again in the post season but WIS seems okay with this. I know it might be random pairing but still I do not like it. Given what we have, I have to go with the Bears, they are the reigning champs and that has to count for something, but the Trojans might have a sword hiding somewhere to take down the Bears.

Now for the grand daddy of them all. The one that will dethrone the great jasonfreeman. The one that will crown a new champ, a new overload, the one that will give bragging rights to someone for a while. The one that will put a target on someone's back. The one that will move someone from the level of mere mortals into immortality. The WIS Championship game. There are a few teams who could have made it here but it was not to be. We have 2 programs on the verge of greatness. We have the under dogs in most peoples eyes except Vegas (must be something in the air in Vegas), we have the team out of Houston taking on the Gators. Houston goes in undefeated and the Gators have 1 loss. It is going to be shotgun taking on tried and tested formations. I can tell you if the shotgun comes out on top I am switching. Both teams are coached by great coaches and are run like well oiled machines. For this game I am going to go with the Houston Cougars. They are taking on a powerhouse in the Gators, and I just want to see the shotgun working. Nothing against the Gators but between the 2, the Cougars get my vote. I wonder who would win in a fight, a gator or a cougar? If anybody knows please let me know.

I think that is enough rumbling for the day. Good luck to all the coaches in all the games, from D-III to D-1A. I wish you all the best in your upcoming games. Give them hell. I look forward to some exciting games. The Maze will try not to go into hibernation as long as we did this time around. I figured maybe people had, had too much running in the Maze, you can only take so much Maze running. Until the next time keep working them legs in preparation for another Maze run.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page