top of page

Wilkinson S129 Rookie Coach of the Year

Wilkinson S129 Rookie Coach of the Year

Good morning/afternoon/evening or whenever you decide to read this. Justaguy and Awags put out the gauntlet to see if anyone could help write some more D-2 articles for Wilkinson Central and my immediate response was https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6YVTksxZMOA Whenever there is some D-2 content, the usual suspects are always named, so I wanted to give some love to the “newbies”. Before I get into the main point of the article which is to crown Season 129’s Rookie Coach of the Year, I thought I might formally introduce myself.

BigKeithDog is my username and I started playing GD in 2008 when I was stationed in South Korea. I had a co-worker introduce me to it and I love it. I started out in Bryant and played in a division with Nelsonba25 (Some old-timers might remember him) and he kicked my ass…..a lot…..more like all of the time. After moving to Germany I decided chasing “Frauleins” and drinking “biers” was more fun than playing sim college football. I’d play a random season here and there but didn’t get back into it until getting back from a deployment in SW Asia and overheard someone talking about GD. I did some research on the forums and Wilkinson seemed like the place for me. I did some homework and wanted to find a good school in a good location to recruit from that had a lot of open schollies. I chose Maryville. Even though the coach before me when 12-3, I still considered it a rebuild because the cabinets were bare. I wrote about it in the forums and the former coach there before me named AKite (name sound familiar) tried rip me because it wasn’t the classic GD definition of a rebuild. So I decided the only way to shut him up was to move up to D-2 in his conference and beat him. I lost the first year and never got to play him again (and never will now thankfully) but the other conference mates there are incredible and I see myself there for the long haul.

Sooooo now that I’ve bored you guys with my stories without further ado…..The only criteria to be nominated was that the coach must be a first time/first year D-2 Coach in Wilkinson. Factors in determining the winner are:

  1. Win Loss Record

  2. Win Loss Record the previous year (Did you improve your team’s record?)

  3. Scholarships (More credit to Coaches winning with their own fr and Sims rather than winning with other user’s players)

  4. SOS (Did you play patsies en-route to your 10 win season)

Here are all of the Rookie Coaches from conference alphabetical order:

lsusaint – Virginia Union

Coach G72 – Gannon

texasksa – Winston-Salem State

horndogs2s – Indianapolis

AdamBG – Michigan Tech

Btgraves – Central Arkansas

Txm019 – Arkansas Monticello

Moonrook – North Alabama

SoonerC - SW Oklahoma Weatherford

SchoolyMe – Cheyney

Crab Simmons – Long Island

Muggsy Boges- Indiana (PA)

Dankebe – Edinboro

Toreybarr – Clarion

Bobbydrag – Midwestern State

Joedrama819 – Adams State

Huskers2010 – Mars Hill

MichStFan15 – Lane

CoachLyons37 and I discussed the idea of this award for about a week and with some correspondence we narrowed down the finalists to 5 coaches:

LSUSaint – Virginia Union: Coach LSUSaint took over a perineal playoff team at Virginia Union from hogly22. His impressive 13-0 record displays that he knows what to do with talent. Virginia Union has made the playoffs every season since season 121 and it won’t change this season. His impressive air attack features QB Milton Figueroa (JR) and they are powered on the ground by RB Travis Miller (JR). His win over fellow Rookie Coaches texasksa and Coach 72 look great however, most of the heavy lifting on offense is done by wareagle399’s recruits. Even though he was able to schedule his opponents this year, a SOS rating of 131 doesn’t do him any favors.

Texasksa – Winston-Salem State: Coach Texasksa has come to Winston-Salem State looking like a savior. His record of 11-2 after a 5-8 season shines even brighter when you see WSS’s SOS is rated at 43. Even though his seniors are the main producers of his offense, Coach Texasksa’s seniors are sim recruited. QB Charles White put up nice but not gaudy numbers for his farewell tour. What hurts Coach Texasksa most is the beatdown https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dLMKs8nYXfg he took at the hands of fellow nominee LSUSaint losing by a score of 66-3!!

Muggsy Boges – Indiana (PA): Who doesn’t love a college names after a state but resides in another state? Well this year the answer is most of the coaches in the PSAC! Coach Muggsy Boges took over a god awful team with a 0-13 record the year before. He spread the wealth evenly in the air relying primarily on his running game. RB Mark Soto (Jr) put up over 2000yds of total offense for Indiana (PA). He had good wins this year over 4 users including 2 other rookie coaches (dankebe, toreybarr). The ugly mark on his record is the 94-10 in conference massacre at the hands of coach Cgreenemax and his Slippery rock team.

Joedrama819 – Adams State: Coach JoeDrama took the reins of Adams State this year looking to improve an already quality program coming out of the RMAC. Joe Drama was able to finish the year 9-4 even though having a SOS rating of 12 with games OOC against potentially 3 playoffs teams. He also had to face the #1 Wilk Central rated team in Colorado-Mines. Even though his team won’t make the CC this year, his team is hoping to hold on to a playoff spot. His doubled headed QB attack strike fear into many opponents with a combined 4600yds between Steven Brewer (SR) and Richard Law (SR). Possibly a win at Kentucky State week 3 would have sealed the deal with this year’s vote. Having a strong SOS schedule is nice, however you have to win some of the games….or at least one! Especially when you play in WIS’s second worst rated conference overall.

Huskers2010- Mars Hill: Mars Hill lived the life of mediocrity until coach Huskers2010 took over this year. He coached them to their first double digit season in 15 seasons! Just win baby was a motto used by Al Davis and that’s what Huskers2010 did. He did it with a balanced attack getting most of his passing done by QB Ronald Kelley (SR) who had a modest 2595 yds passing. His RB Earl Dick (Jr) (you have to be kidding me with this name WIS!) didn’t have a HARD time getting it DONE on the ground as he POUNDED out over 1500yds (sorry I couldn’t resist). With a SOS rated at 111, it’s difficult to validate an 11 win season. Especially when all of your wins are over sims.

I hope everyone enjoyed my review of the Rookie Coaches this year. I’m going to try to contribute on the Wilk Central page for D-2. I’d love to get invited to TD33’s podcast to talk some D-2 love! Please submit your votes (sitemail) to BigKeithDog by Saturday, February 25th 11:59 EST. Results will be announced on Sunday the 26th.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page