top of page

Championship Maze


Here we go. The final games everyone gets to play. Not everyone will make it to a CC or a bowl game, so that makes this special. It is a chance for some to get into a CC game and for others to make a push for a bowl appearance. But should you have left things this late to make a push for something, oh i'm just serious. It has been a long hard season for everyone. We all started with big hopes and dreams but reality kicked in and kicked us in the teeth for most of us.

We had some awesome games today, my oh my. Did you guys see that red river rivalry game. Did you see it, did you? It was a great show put on by these great coaches, I did not expect anything less. I just hope the Sooners won't continue to roll because them Aggies are next up. That second half showing from the Longhorns was something though, they did something similar to the Aggies, they shut them out in the second half of their game. The Longhorns must make some adjustments at the half or the coach just tears into the team and they come up with the goods in the second half. BK must give his team the hairdryer treatment, that's for my Manchester United fans out there, by the way they are the worst. The Longhorns won the yardage battle but lost were it matters the most in the points column. I am sure they will be back next season after they reload that already stacked roster. The Sooners are looking at going back to another CC, which will be the third one in a row. They will be taking on the Cornhuskers who they lost to earlier in the season, but I bet they are hoping for some revenge. In this match-up I have to lean towards the Cornhuskers, they already know what it takes to get past the Sooners, they did it this season and last season in the CC game too, but I am OK with being proven wrong too.

Another match-up to keep an eye out for is the clash of elites in the ACC, we will be having FSU going up against the Hurricanes from the looks of things. We have talked about the Hurricanes before, we talked about their push for a NC berth but things are not looking good but I bet a CC win would improve things, maybe? They have since dropped back to 4th in the rankings, last time we talked about them they were in 2nd place but their SOS has dropped a bit and thus their current position. I had the Hurricanes going to the big game but it seems unlikely now, like I told you guys before I do not know jack. Or maybe I put a jinx on them by picking them, doubt it, I am not that powerful. In this match-up I have to go with the Hurricanes, I feel like they have gone through a tougher schedule and come out the other side okay, which tells me they know what they are doing and this is not to say the Seminoles do not know what they are doing. They are a well coached team with a good coach and roster but when matched with the Hurricanes I think the hurricane will just sweep everything out to sea.

In the Big East we have an interesting situation. We already know Pitt will be in the CC and hoping to be in the NC game with their undefeated record but that SOS might cost them. Right now Pitt is in 5th and last time we talked about them they were in 3rd place, man I might be jinxing people out here. I know Pitt has West Virginia to go but they have not been having a good season so I would put the mortgage on Pitt. The other division is more interesting, if you look at the it you have Colorado State sitting at the top of the division and they have a Sim AI to finish the season. Now right behind them is South Florida, a team that Colorado State already lost to. Both teams have 2 conference losses thus far, South Florida still has to play Cincinnati who are coached by graham1958 who is a good coach. I am sure he wants to win the game too and if he does so Colorado State goes to the CC but if South Florida wins I think they go to the CC. This is going to be one to watch and keep an eye on. The conference packed as this will always throw some drama at you and we love it. Good luck to all parties concerned. I just hope we get good games and not blow outs in the games of interest. If there is a potential scenario I missed well, my bad.

In the Big 10 things are a bit easy to decipher on who is going to the CC. I know these are bold predictions given we have a game to go but what the heck, this is what we do in the Maze. Here I think it is going to be the fierce rivals, the Wolverines and the Buckeyes going at it.

This should be a good game, well coached teams going at it. They are well matched if you look at the rankings. At the time of putting this together the Buckeyes were ranked 15th with the Wolverines in front of them in 14th. Now doesn't that say we are fairly well matched. Who will come out ahead, well you tell me. Both teams have had fairly similar opposition level as seen in their respective SOS. They have the same record right now. Michigan has a better roster according to GUESS but that Ohio State roster is not too shabby either. With that in mind I think I have to lean towards the Wolverines but I would not count out the Buckeyes.

Houston, we do not have a problem. Man I love what is going on in Houston, they must have added something to the water because these boys are just out here rolling and laughing all the way. They only have Central Florida standing in their way from an appearance in the NC game. I am going to assume they get to their CC were they will meet the aforementioned Central Florida. I am sure they want to win the CC too but come on, let Houston go represent at the big dance Central Florida, but nah that is not why we play this game. I hope both teams give it a good go. They have met before this season already and Houston came out on top 37-23, which tells me that Central Florida can pull off the upset if they can avoid throwing picks. If they do not throw 3 picks in their first game who knows what might have happened, but even with that said Houston put up yards on them so I expect more of the same in the CC. I say Houston comes out on top and wins the CC en route to a NC berth.

In the MAC the game to keep an eye out for is the one tonight that will determine who goes to face Buffalo in the CC. We have Ball State taking on Northern Illinois tonight. We will be having a first year coach at Northern Illinois going against an established coach at Ball State. Both teams have gone through similar schedules as seen through how close their strength of schedules are. They have the same exact record on the season but one will have a better record at the end of the day tomorrow. Given one coach is in his first year I have to go with the established coach who has been to the CC the last 2 years but has not won it. Is that a sign that they buckle under the pressure of big games? I do not know but I still have to go with Ball State. The coach has built his team as he wants it so that gives them the edge in my book. Keep an eye on that game people, should be a good one.

Out west I think it is going to be a repeat of what we saw last year in the CC. We will have the boys out of northern Cal in the Cal Golden Bears taking on the boys out of southern Cal in the USC Trojans. The Golden Bears can spoil things for the Trojans who have ambitions of making it to the NC. They are sitting within striking distance to the 2 schools in prime position for the NC game. This will be the first meeting of the 2 teams this season and it will be in the biggest game of the season for the conference, deciding on who is their champ. The Golden Bears have had somewhat of an off year after their high last year. I am sure they will reload and comeback next year. In this match-up this year I have to go with the Trojans, I am sorry Golden Bears. I know they say form is temporary and class is permanent and I know the Golden Bears can come up with the W, I think you are out of form this year and your class will allow you to come back next year. Trojans all the way in the PAC 10 but will they make the NC game, now that is the question.

Gators vs Gamecocks is always a hell of a game to watch, now imagine being part of it late in the season as you are trying to get to the CC. WOW, that just adds more to the game. The Gators have designs for a bigger game but to get there, they have to go through them Gamecocks who ain't no joke. The Gators are well positioned but I bet the Gamecocks have designs on spoiling things for the Gators, they want a shot at that CC themselves. Waiting for the winner in this game is the Tigers of LSU, they are just chilling and getting ready to take on a good team that comes from the other division. LSU have gone through a tough schedule so whoever shows up from the other side will have a game on their hands.

New Mexico State and Navy will be colliding in the CC for the Sun Belt. That has the potential to be a good game. The New Mexico State coach has managed to turn things around, last season they had a losing record and this year they are going to a CC, and on the other side we have allen129 who is going for a 3peat in the CC game and I am not going to bet against him. He is a good coach who knows what he is doing. He used to coach the Aggies until some chump took them over. Both teams are on long winning runs and someones' run is going to end in that game. I say New Mexico State, you had a good run but this is where the run stops for you. Have to go with the Midshipmen on this one.

In my former conference we have my former team Boise State gong up against San Jose State for the CC. Both teams have the same overall record but when they meet in the CC one will pick up another loss. They both play Sim AI teams tonight so I think it is safe to say they will both get wins tonight. The San Jose coach is in his first year, taking over a team that won the conference last season whilst the Boise State coach is in his second season and he also has turned things around for his team. This should be a good game, one team has the chance to keep the trophy whilst the other has a chance to pick up the trophy after a long time without it. I have to lean towards the coach taking over from another coach as I think that would be less of a rebuild in comparison to a team that had 2 seasons without a coach and had a roster that was left by yours truly.

Now please remember these are just the rumblings of a guy who knows nothing. I just wanted to get a jump start to CC predictions because well, why not. Everyone would have done them when they were set in stone but not this guy. He thinks he can see into the future and stuff. He should have seen how bad he would be at this game in my opinion. I wish all the teams with a shot at the CC, luck. I hope I did not jinx anyone with my rumblings. Until the next time keep them legs fresh for a Maze run.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page