top of page

The Crystal Maze

I hope your legs have recovered from our last run in the Maze. JAG has been holding the fort down with great content which I recommend everyone check out if you have not been doing so. Everyone should also check out the different podcasts that are adding extra content to this game we love. What a time to be alive. Today we are going to try and look into the crystal ball and guess who is going to be in the big game come the end of the season, we will talk about some other stuff too, maybe.

We are going to look at the current top 5 and see were we are at the time of this post. Take a look at the picture below:

Some of these schools look familiar to everyone, and we talked about them before and I think I told you guys these guys are legit. Coach ebel with his Houston team sits at the mountain top. Houston everything is running smoothly, everything is running like a fine tuned machine. People I think the shotgun formation is the way to go or am I jumping the gun on that one? I don't know, you tell me. Houston has continued to roll, they remain undefeated and have 2 more human coaches and if they get through those guys and their CC then I think they are going to the big dance. I think even with 1 loss and a CC, they might still make the big dance. I hope they make it to the big dance, we have had 1 non elite represent at the big dance the last 3 years and I say let us continue that tradition. Now some of you might start saying this is the Cinderella story for this season and I say no, this is the culmination of hard work and there is no magic dust or pumpkin to speak of here. The coach across his teams has been able to do great work, his teams win and because of that this can not be a Cinderella story. Cinderella required magic and the coach just put in the work. Good on you ebel, and keep up the good work.

Chilling in second spot are the Hurricanes. They are just hanging out here like it ain't nothing. They have been rolling in their conference games but they have some tough games coming up with Duke and North Carolina still to play. Those 2 games are the only ones I can see being road blocks for them, but Duke is not doing well this year, they are sitting at .500. I am sure they will be back with their great coach tampafla. With the best offense in the conference the Hurricanes should be able to blow everyone out of their way en route to an appearance at the big dance. They might have to go through Florida State to make it to the big dance if they manage to clinch their division, if both elites clinch their divisions we will see elite on elite violence as them boys bang helmets against each other and try to take each others' head off, for that CC. I am not sure who I would put money on in that showdown but with the Hurricane offense you have to lean their way, don't you?

Rounding out the podium places are the boys at Pittsburgh. They continue to roll. They remain undefeated, rolling through human coaches. Their road to this point has been an impressive one as they have played different coaches probably with different strategies at the game and coach bjschumacher has continued to stack them W like they stack pan cakes at IHOP. They have moved up a bit since we last ran through the Maze, and looking at their momentum I think they still have designs for that top spot, they just need more help with that SOS. It is the weakest of the top 5 schools right now, so guys come on help the coach out here, win your games so that Pitt continues to move up the totem pole. Coach keep doing your thing. Keep mauling everyone you Panthers.

Next up are the Gators with coach potter, now they are the newest entry into our top 5, they kicked out the Sooners. The Gators have 1 less loss which helped propel them into their current position. The Gators have been taking care of business, just going through teams including but not limited to the great awags, granted it is his first year at Bama, but still the Gators took care of business. They just keep climbing up them rankings like:

I hope they do not fall off like this gator did at the end. They have a test tonight against the Georgia Bulldogs and then to finish off the regular season they have the Gamecocks, both teams are no pushovers. I expect fireworks in both games and these might be of the offensive variety or the defensive variety, either way I expect fireworks.

Rounding out the top 5 are the Trojans, they have been chilling in 5th place since we last ran around. I wonder if they will be happy with that or will they make a push for the top spot in these final few games. The Trojans are a well coached team with the great ez37 who was a nominee for the Wilkinson HOF if I remember correctly, I hope you got your votes in and look out for the results here in the near future. The Trojans have 1 loss which might stop them from a CC game, which might in turn keep them out of a NC berth but stranger things have happened. There was the Liverpool comeback of Istanbul, or the more recent Pats comeback, so there is hope for them but I would not put money on it. For starters they are coming from way too far back. The guys looking in their review mirrors need not worry they are not as close as they seem. They have 1 more human coach and then from there they need some help for things to go their way. By their standards I think they might consider the season a bust if they do not make the NC game, but in my book I would be happy, I guess that is why I am not an elite coach, I settle for mediocrity.

Now having gone through all the top 5 teams, the guys I think will make it into the NC game are:

I am going to go with Houston and Miami. I also like Pitt but I feel they might be a bit far back to dethrone Miami even if they go undefeated and Miami wins out. The Pitt SOS does not help them much but if they go undefeated they would have done a great job for the season. Now like I always tell you guys I do not know jack and jack does not know me, so I would not be surprised if I am way off. The other teams can use this as fuel to get their teams fired up for their games against the top 5 teams. Whichever way things go, we would have had a fantastic season. I think we had a good run in the Maze for today.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page