top of page

Dark Side Maze


Now this Maze run is really gonna be crazy, but whatever. This will show you how bad things are in the Maze. I warned you guys from the jump that this Maze, that most call their brain, for me is crazy. I try not to go there a lot because I sometimes scare myself when I go into the Maze. We are going to jump into it a bit and then return to our regularly scheduled programming. I think everyone has expressed themselves on the issue and me adding my 2 cents won't make much of a difference.

I think by now everyone knows about the issue that has been lighting up the message boards. The issue of the coach at Michigan in Leahy and another coach at Pitt also in Leahy. It seems like the coaches have been working together to gain an upper hand in the game. It has worked out for 1 coach more than the other I think. With that in mind I am like, why then would the other coach help the successful coach when the relationship is not working out well for you. You are not steam rolling everyone like the other coach who has a NC. With one coach winning and the other not and they are working together makes me think maybe it is the same coach on both accounts and using the other username to help boost his other account. Stay with me, if I am playing this game, I am playing to win and have fun. I am not going to play to just help someone else do all the winning whilst I win sometimes, nah not me. I want to win every game even though I know that will not happen for me.

Even when I do not win, I know I would have given it my best with what I have on offer. I would say to myself hey, you tried your best but it was not to be. I would have honestly lost the game to a better coach, team or the engine would have just screwed me over. Which just says to me, hey step your game up man. Do a better job on all fronts of the game. Get better talent and game plan better. I then ask, how can I do that. Well ask questions, there are no dumb questions. I have sitemailed a few coaches to get their take on things and have applied what they have told me and some of it works for me and some of it does not. In all this I am doing my best to keep learning and improving my game. Every loss is an opportunity to improve, and when I win it is just a bit sweeter because I know the work that went into it. I remember when I was at Boise State, and I was sucking so bad I thought about quitting a few times but one of the coaches I leaned on for advise said do not do that, stick with it and keep plugging away (you know who you are COACH). So I kept plugging away and improved season to season, as I was doing so I thought hey, there has to be another way to winning, a dummy account maybe to try and use to scout players, maybe, because it is hard to find good talent in Idaho, and when I did find talent a BCS school would swoop in and pick up the guy. I pondered the dummy account for a few seconds and said that is not the way as I will be cheating myself. Stick to it and learn, continue to improve everyday, learn from both the losses and wins.

I am a great believer in that you should not be the same person you were from 10 years ago as that means you have just wasted 10 years since you are still the same person and have not grown for 10 years. My record at Boise kept improving and I saw that as a sign that I was growing and learning and then I moved to the Aggies. It was a scary thing to do for me as there were elites in the conference and on top of that I joined the division that had 2 elites. I think everyone knows playing elites ain't no joke, they can wreck you. I thought joining the Aggies will definitely keep forcing me to continue to grow and learning and boy have I learnt a lot, I suck at this game. I have kept at it, challenging myself to keep up a good team as was left when the previous coach moved on. I have to say I have failed in that pursuit but that just means there is an extra challenge for me. Win games, improve the roster, learn what works best for you and at least compete with everyone year in and year out. Now trying to use a dummy account to compete is not even competing in my opinion, it is like taking candy from a baby, that is just rude. I should say I have taken candy from a baby, he was confused about the whole situation but that candy tasted good though, I felt guilty about taking candy from the baby because he is a cool little human being.

Having multiple usernames is okay in my book as long as you follow the rules and also just let everyone know whats up. Let people know so that you do not have to worry about a situation as the one we are seeing unfold now in Leahy and most coaches in Wilk already let everyone know. This game is fun for me and when I came back I only had Boise State but I had been bitten by the competition bug and I picked up a few more teams in other worlds, I figured this was a better option than having another account. The other reason I like this game besides the competition of fake football is that the coaches are honorable guys, well it seems most of the coaches. In competition you want to keep everything above board and do your best. In any situation you want to do your best and be honorable in your actions, this is not to say I am honorable all of the time but I try to be. I have cheated in exams before and felt horrible after, as I knew I did not deserve the grade I would have gotten, but I learned from the situation and decided to just do my best next time.

The coach at Michigan got caught in a very suspect position and he or she should have just owned up to it and come clean. They should have just apologized to their peers and I am sure that would have been the end of that. They got caught with crumbs on their face and there were some missing cookies, now the crumbs could have been from something other than cookies. Once all this had been brought to light the proper authorities were informed and from the looks of things they bungled the investigation and that is a bad look on them, though I feel like they do not care that much. They could have tested those crumbs to see if their composition was the same as that of the missing cookies, come on guys just run a simple chromatography test, you have all the tools. The authorities can go back and look at communications of the accused and see if the accusation is true, even with little man power that should be a simple coding problem for the authorities. With their lack of enforcement of an equal and opposite reaction to the accused crime, they might have just opened the flood gates of people doing what the coach is accused of. I do not encourage this, let us just play the game right and do our best to win properly. We all know it feels great when you do something the right way and reap the rewards of your hard work.

In my opinion the accused looks very guilty and the evidence that was presented would be enough for me to convict. Those who have access to better concrete evidence have let the people down by not using their resources to settle the matter. All I can hope for now is that the rest of the coaches do not follow this same route as it is not the way. It also now seems like we have to be more vigilant and we have to police ourselves. I applaud the coaches who brought everything to light, they showed the dark side of the game we all enjoy. I hope we will never visit the dark side again. Now that was a lot of rumbling that did not say anything at all, I did warn you about going through the Maze with me.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page