top of page

The Maze Entrance


Ladies and Gentlemen, Boys and Girls, lets get ready. We are about to set off on another great journey. We are about to enter the maze that will lead us to the crowning of a new champ or maybe the same champ as this past season. I am sure there will be twists and turns this season that will surprise and elate us. There will also be heart break, the heart break might start tonight, as the non conference games kick off.

Non conference games are on starting tonight and I hope everyone has the right game plan in because you do not want to lose because you forgot to get the right plan set. We have a few games worth looking at and we are going to do that. These games have the potential to wreck your season early or to set you up for a good year. There will be some games that I will not look at and to the coaches involved it's not personal, it is just I liked the other games a bit more and I do not want to make this maze run too long.

First game we are going to look at is the Sooners vs Midshipmen. These coaches are very familiar with each other. They used to bump heads every season from season 118 to season 125. In those 8 seasons the Sooners came out on top, 5 - 3. So that tells me the Sooners had the upper hand but now with a different roster maybe things are about to change, with the Midshipmen turning that record around. The Sooner coach lets you now what he is going to do, the blitz is coming for you. The coach at the Midshipmen has already won 2 Conference titles within 3 seasons, so he is no slouch. Oklahoma has the 3rd best roster this season and Navy has the 63rd roster, with that big of a difference I think this might come down to getting the right game plan set for the Midshipmen. With that in mind I see the Sooners starting off the season with a win but you never know, it might be time for the Midshipmen to come through and get a good win to set them off on a hell of a season.

Another game to keep an eye out for is the Fighting Irish taking on the Stanford Cardinals. This might be a great game, both schools are well coached and they also have very good rosters. The Notre Dame roster is ranked as 13th best and Stanford is ranked as the 10th best roster. Now that is a match up, top 20 rosters, great coaches, i can see possible fireworks in this one. I would be surprised if it is settled in regulation.

History is against the Cardinals coach, he is 1 - 8 against the Irish coach. That is not a good look but they have a W in their column so we know they know how to do it, the only question is will they be able to pull it off this year. Both coaches have won CCs which means they know how to game plan and get ready for a team and put them away, but with this match up it might be a case of an unstoppable force meeting an unmovable object. I want to say the Irish will get the W but I would not count the Cardinals out. It should be a close game I think.

Houston and Louisville will be going head to head under these coaches for the first time. The coaches have never bumped heads in this world. It is an opportunity to take the first W in this series and have bragging rights until they meet again. Both coaches know what they are doing, just look at their resumes and you will be impressed. With the Houston roster they do not have any short RBs, they just have tall RBs and they run the shotgun formation which is a formation I like but am a wimp to run. The Louisville coach is in his first year there, taking over a team that had been under different leadership for a while. It will be interesting to see what the new coach is able to do with the hybrid roster. I wonder if the new coach will be changing things up in terms of formations from the last coach or not. Given all of this I would put my money on the coach who has been at a school for a while as they have had a chance to recruit to what they want but the new coach is a great coach so you know he knows how to win games, but I have to lean towards the coach who has planted roots at their school. I think the Houston boys will be able to get the W.

Let the rumble begin and good luck to everyone this season except the guys I am playing. There are many more game that are worth keeping an eye out for but the 3 I talked about are the ones that caught my eye at the time. Do not take my predictions too seriously because well, I do not know jack.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page