top of page

Signing off Maze


Hopefully everyone has a had a chance to get the guys they wanted and test out those new formations they are planning on switching to. Today we are going to just sort of summarize the recruiting period since it is now over. We had the usual suspects topping the recruiting charts as expected, we are going to dive into that a little, along with a few other things.

I hope everyone has had a chance to go over to GUESS and look at how they did in comparison to others. I made my way over there to see how things went and as I suspected we had the usual suspects topping the chart for the best recruiting class. The top 5 are listed below:

As expected we have elites at the top of the list and BC a non elite who always seem to make their way onto the list every now and again. From this list I have been told that you do not want to go to Nebraska or Michigan because recruiting there is tough but these 2 coaches have shown me otherwise. They managed to get great classes which were relatively big and they had some studs in them too. Though I have been told if you go there and there are studs in your area you are guaranteed to get them as there is no one close to really battle you. Boston College also managed to get a stud QB Compton in this class. Congrats on that pick, dude is a stud. Recruiting this year was mad crazy because the world is mad full. Everywhere you went to try and pick up some guys you would find someone on them and it was tough to find some guys.

I bet after this past recruiting cycle everyone is looking forward to next season's recruiting. It should be more fun because I think we will probably be picking up some new coaches. We might be losing some coaches too but overall I think we should be gaining more than losing. I wonder if that top 5 will change this coming season. With the new recruits, why don't we look at the top 5 classes also:

Surprise surprise elites are in the top 5 and we only have 3 conferences represented. I thought there would a representative from each of the power conferences and not just 3. I thought there would be at least 1 SEC school in the top 5 but nope they are just outside the top 5 and knocking on the door. We have seen some of these coaches before. They recruit well so as expected they have great rosters. So take notes people, recruit well and your roster will be awesome.

Let us take a look at how the conferences did in terms of recruiting:

Power conferences are at the top as expected. SEC sits at the top of the mountain and looks down on everyone. There is a big drop from the BCS conferences to the mid major conferences. The BCS conferences are just scooping up all the talent it seems and leaving "okay" guys for the other conferences. As a BCS school you want to make sure you get top talent to remain competitive in your conference or else it is sayonara with you. Speaking of conferences let us take a look at those full roster rankings:

As expected we have the power conferences up there and the mid major conferences coming after them too. These rankings make sense if you think about it. There is another drop from the BCS conferences to the mid major conferences. I think the BCS conferences need to spread the love and make all the conferences competitive, come on guys spread the love, sharing is caring.

I wonder how things will look next year when recruiting is done. I expect to see some movement in the rankings as people come up with new recruiting strategies to adapt to the new world. I think now you have to evolve or you die in this world. This might be true across the board, from recruiting to game planning. I always breathe a sigh of relief when recruiting is done because it means I am not losing any recruits anymore but then I remember it is time to start playing games and then the stress comes back as I remember who I will be playing. Good luck to everyone on the new season when the games pick up except the guys I am playing.

*PS all the rankings are from GUESS


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page