top of page

A Pawn Wins

You know, it's funny. Everything about last season is funny.

Everyone that plays this game seems to have a different story. What they do for a living, where they're from (we have a Canadians and even a Brit!), and how they found GD (I actually found out after initially taking interest in HD)...etc. Yet, we all have one goal: win a championship. No matter how much research you do, how many teams you rebuild, it's difficult to feel validated until you have at least one trophy next to your name.

I'll be honest, I took a team in Rockne because I felt it would be easier to win my first NC. After just a short time, I acquired Florida State...my first elite! At this point, I felt so close to my first championship that I could smell it! In just four seasons, that Florida State team reached the NC in Rockne, only to be pummeled by 40 points by a very good Oklahoma team coached by aegsm. Somehow, that wasn't even that disappointing. In just four seasons, we're playing for the championship? I'll eventually win one right? Well, that team is still building and has yet to finally close the deal.

Now, championships in GD are great. Even if you play in a world with only 10 other human coaches, winning a championship is a big deal. However, there's something different about competing for a championship in Wilkinson. When you win play here, it's nearly real. Every recruit is fought for, every team has a different gameplan or system, there are numerous great, legendary coaches. Thanks to the media, there's pride on the line. It's mathematical, but also emotional. When I lose a game in Rockne, I laugh. When I lose one in Wilkinson? Oh, there can be swearing. Slamming a fist on the desk. Maybe it won't ruin an entire day, but it's maddening to play here; it's humbling.

Before I continue, let me state that I don't want this to be about me. Winning my first championship isn't what why I'm writing. I'm writing this because of the message that was presented after I won. A few coaches have made the argument that I "found a new system", or "changed my gameplan"...etc. As I said earlier, it's funny. Last season was funny. Thanks to my anxiety, I basically lost interest in the game. After losing two early games, I really, really didn't care. After losing to Maine, I made one adjustment and left my team untouched until playoffs. Got a nice win against Southeast Missouri, and Orangepace pushed me around. Whatever...pretty typical. Then playoffs start.

For the first round, I did nothing and happened to beat Holy Cross. Thanks to nice offense, I decided to just keep the same gameplan for Texas Southern. It's the same three gameplans that I used all season, and for the past 8 seasons or so. So, I don't make any adjustments and just let the game sim. Wake up in the morning, check the WISCAST and I'm down 24-14 at half. I can't move the ball, and honestly, I'm lucky to not be down 31-14. So, what the hell right? I'm supposed to get knocked out by Texas Southern in the second half. I decided to use one of my gameplans that didn't make sense to utilize, but I knew he wouldn't be ready for it. I ended up winning 48-34. Next game was against Eastern Kentucky, I went with a gameplan that didn't feel perfect but I didn't anticipate that Pete would expect it. Completely shut down his offense (we had a combined -6 yards in the first eight minutes). Remember, up to this point, I have never beaten Pete. So, I decide to change gameplans at half, because I'm anticipating the Pete will make a change. That worked. Same situation against Southeast Missouri and same situation against Drake.

These gameplans weren't / aren't elaborate. I wasn't doing hard research. I was simply, playing chess. Anticipating moves and setting up my opponent. At this point, I feel like I've done a lot of blabbering...so, let me wrap up. If you haven't won a championship, or if you haven't won one in Wilkinson, here's my message. I'm not the smartest coach. I don't use a crazy elaborate gameplan. I don't do anything special. You are close. You are ever so close to winning the championship. Don't overthink it. This isn't about having the most efficient offense, it's not about wearing out your opponent. If you want to win, learn to play chess or poker, learn to anticipate your opponent. The secret isn't in throwing a certain number of times to your backup running back. The secret is to play the person across the table.

The fact that my first championship came in Wilkinson is hilarious to me; I'm still giddy. A championship? Here? No, that's not me. I took a team to win my first elsewhere. Yet, a few anticipated moves took me from extreme frustration to feeling unstoppable. There's nearly 60 of you in 1AA, we're over 70 in 1A. Some of you will get frustrated this season, some of you will be knocked out of contention one week from now. Don't give up, you're closer than you think. The chess match, the poker bet, is the heart of this game and once you understand how it's played, you'll really understand what makes this game great.

- CJ


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page