top of page

Recruiting Maze


I am back again like I left something. Hopefully some of you are back with me too for a second helping of the rumblings that are my thoughts from the maze that is my brain. Today, I think we are going to go down the recruiting route. I hope everyone has their boards ready because I think with the number of coaches now, you have to be ready to go from the jump.

I have no idea what recruiting strategy works, I rarely fill my classes which tells me my strategy does not work. If there is anyone out there who always fills their class, please get in touch (seriously). I love looking for guys before recruiting starts, populating my board is always fun until the recruits start going to other schools, then I am depressed. I think someone will have to write a book on recruiting strategy and maybe charge a fee for it (remember who came up with the idea when the $ starts to roll in).

A good recruiting period has the potential to set you up for a good few seasons or set you up on the wrong path. Having a good class will allow you to have some good players when they come good down the line and needless to say this increases your chances of making a run for a title be it conference or national. With real life national signing day around the corner we can see the effects there also of having a good class, the schools that recruit well tend to be in the conversation for the playoffs. In season 128 5 elites had the top 5 recruiting classes and those classes had great seasons.

School Coach Recruiting Class Rank Record

Penn State tkechub 1 14-1

Texas bkdries 2 13-1

Oklahoma blitziscomin 3 12-3

USC ez37 4 12-3

Michigan nortonis 5 13-2

Looking at these programs it tells me that an elite is the place to be (duh) and the coaches are solid coaches who know how to recruit and what to do with said recruits. I am sure the top 5 recruiting classes in season 129 will feature some of these coaches, in what order i do not know. Some of these coaches are always there in the top 5 rankings of recruiting classes. I now challenge the non elite schools to try and muscle their way into that top 5 this season. Boston College and Minnesota have been in that top 5 before. Maybe you do not need to be in the top 5 recruiting classes. If we look at what Cal has been able to do without top 5 recruiting classes though makes me think maybe you do not need a top 5 class. It might be more what you do with your roster but it would not hurt to have top 5 class.

Given my rumblings i think i am going to drop everyone off the train that is going around the maze. I hope everyone is able to get the recruits they want and also fill their classes. I am sure we are going to see more forums with people complaining about people jumping on their recruits who were green and so forth. This should be a fun recruiting period with a packed world.

Good luck to everyone with recruiting and remember to tell them:


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page