top of page

The Corn Maze


Greetings to all and welcome to the first article of hopefully many. Not sure yet on where we are going to go but I hope you come with me as we explore this maze. For this article, I thought we should start off with looking at the top 5 QB recruits per yatzr and the schools near them. We are going to look at the QBs and see if the schools they are located near need a QB.

Top 5 QBs:

Victor Compton, West Babylon, NY

With Athleticism of 74, Game Instinct of 72 and Technique of 90, if this guy was close to me I would risk picking up some walk-ons to have him on my roster. I would maybe worry about his potential but still I like this guy, (imagine if he has great potential).

Army is the closest team to him and they definitely need a QB this season. They will have a ton of scholarship money this year so they can splurge on him. I doubt they will try to go after him because the other teams who are close by have a bit of more prestige i think.

One of the other teams close by is Rutgers and they probably do not need a QB. They are already sitting on 4 QBs who are ranked as the 4th best QB group in their conference. This group of QBs is good and they are coming after you. So I would not worry too much about Rutgers jumping on Compton.

UConn probably does not need a QB, they are already sitting on 4 QBs like Rutgers but their 4 are ranked 6th in the Big East. With that ranking maybe UConn might try to jump on Compton and get a better talent for the position.

Temple in my opinion could definitely use another QB. They currently have 2 on their roster who are ranked as the 4th best QB group in the Big East. I like these guys, they have good numbers on paper but the game is not played on paper (is it?). The only guy to have played does not have a good TD/Int ratio. Compton's numbers in high school are not the greatest for TD/Int but if he has potential and good guys to throw to he might be the answer. Temple has good WRs and RBs and they could help out the freshman QB.

Boston College could definitely use another QB on the roster. They only have 2 QBs on the roster and adding another would not hurt at all. They have the second best QB group in the ACC, which tells me these guys are solid. If I am BC I would add Compton and redshirt him like they have done with their current QBs. They have to continue that QB pipeline.

William Tyson, Roseville, CA

His Athleticism, Work Ethic, Game Instinct, and Technique, are not as good as Compton but they are still good enough for me to want him on my roster. Not sure if I would risk getting walk-ons with him though. He would not be a bad guy to have at a BCS school if he has good potential.

Cal with Season 128 Coach of the Year jasonfreeman, might consider picking this guy up but i do not think i should be telling a coach who just won a National Title what to do. The reigning CoY already has 3 QBs on his roster so he might not need to pick up this guy but considering one of them is a senior, he might want to have a replacement ready by having Tyson redshirt.

If Cal decides to pick up this guy they might have some competition from the Stanford Cardinal who are carrying 2 QBs. I have Stanford as a could definitely use another QB team. Their current QBs are young with very similar numbers. Tyson has somewhat similar numbers too, so he wont be an upgrade unless his potential is better than the other 2 guys.

San Jose State could definitely use another QB. They are currently carrying 2 on their roster, adding Tyson would not hurt unless there is going to be a battle in recruiting over him. I like the 2 QBs on the roster especially the junior, adding Tyson will ensure they have a depth for the QB position.

I have UCLA as probably not needing a QB but I could be wrong. The Bruins are already carrying 3 QBs, and that is the reason why I do not think they need another QB. Then again I have seen some teams with up to 5 QBs on the roster. They have some good QBs in my opinion and do not need to pick up another QB.

The Trojans could probably pick up another QB, they have 2 on the roster. The 2 are young but I like them and adding Tyson would add depth at the position. If there is a battle over this guy, USC will have the elite status advantage. With the WRs they have adding another QB who can throw the rock to them would not hurt at all.

Claude Hagan, Beverly Hills, CA

Now this guy has some numbers I like, great athleticism, technique, good speed, hands and game instinct. You can run with him with his speed, athleticism and elusiveness. He can be a dual threat QB but if we look at real life those might not turn out great at chucking the ball down the field.

The same schools who are looking at Tyson will be looking at Hagan with the addition of San Diego State, who I have as could definitely use another QB on the roster. They have 2 guys on the roster who are ranked as the 7th best QB group in their conference. They are a young QB group too and adding Hagan would not hurt at all. You might get some competition for him though if too many schools jump on Tyson.

I have UNLV possibly looking at Hagan because I think they definitely need a QB. UNLV only has 1 QB on the roster and they definitely need some depth for the position. Given that they have the best WRs in the conference they definitely need someone good to chuck the ball to them. If I was UNLV I would definitely try to jump on Hagan because they definitely need a QB.

John Rosario, Columbia, TN

This guy of the guys on my list is the second best QB. I love him and his numbers, I hope he has good potential (WE is low) because he is a blue chip recruit. WIS has him as number 8 QB which is good enough but yatzr has him as number 4 which I think is more accurate.

I have Middle Tennessee looking at him because I have them as definitely needing a QB. They only have 1 QB on the roster right now and clearly need depth at the position. The guy they have is not good enough, though he is young so he might develop into a stud. The only question is are they willing to get into a battle with some of the teams around them who need a QB. They might not go after him but they definitely need a QB.

Alabama Birmingham could use another QB on their roster, as they only have 2 right now. The 2 they have a decent, I like the sophomore more than I do the junior. Given all that, it would not hurt to pick up another decent talented QB. Rosario could help fully utilize the WRs on the roster which is ranked as the best unit in the conference. I would not be surprised if they do not pick up another QB, but it would not hurt them to do so.

For my money, Ole Miss probably does not need to pick up another QB. They already have 3 QBs on the books who, as a group, is ranked as the 6th best group of QBs in the SEC. The 3 guys on the books are good enough to me, yet they are only ranked 6th which tells you the SEC might be stacked at the QB position.

Alabama definitely need another QB who can add depth and improve the QB group which is ranked as 9th best in the SEC. This is not good enough as their new coach likes to throw the ball a lot. They have young QBs which might be why they are ranked so low. I would bet a house that the new coach will throw the kitchen sink at Rosario if the potential is good enough. His potential is the one the only unanswered question with Rosario because his numbers are okay enough for chucking the ball down the field.

Memphis could use Rosario on their roster. The ones they have on the roster are already good in their conference. Adding more depth to the position will not hurt. They can redshirt him if they can get their hands on him. With the potential to battle for Rosario with Alabama, I am not sure if Memphis will go in for him.

Robert Stevenson, Ferguson, MO

Good speed, and good game instinct make Bob a good prospect. With his number he can run for you and also throw the ball for you though his technique is a bit low for my liking. His work ethic is high and I love that. I wonder if the is highly correlated with the potential he has. If so I might consider sending my assistant to MO.

Being a local boy for Missouri, you would think they might try their luck for him but in my opinion they do not need a QB. They are already carrying 3 QBs so there is no need to spend money on him. He has good numbers which might tempt the Tigers.

Northern Illinois could use another QB and Bob is close enough to them such that they could give it a go. They have 2 QBs on the books who are ranked as the 10th best group in the MAC. Which to me says we might need to improve our group and Bob might be the answer.

Louisville definitely needs a QB and the new coach might consider Bob. The current QB is ranked as the 7th best QB in the Big East. Louisville has to throw everything at Bob as they need depth at the position. They might forgo him this year as they will not have bowl money since they have a new coach but I would still maybe suggest that they go after him.

Ball State could use another QB since they only have 2 QBs on their roster. Given that Bob would be to add depth they might have to look elsewhere for a QB as Bob will attract a lot of attention from other schools which might lead to battles.

I hope the maze of thoughts and rumblings that are written above make sense to everyone, if not, oh well. They made sense in my head, which might not be a good advert for what is going on in my head, thus the name the Corn Maze. I appreciate you taking the time to read through this. Let me know what your thoughts are, I know the writing is not good. English is a second language for me.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page