top of page

The Weekly Burn


Hello coaches! Welcome to a new weekly blog that I will be writing for Wilkinson Central. This week’s blog will cover a quick introduction of myself, my history in GD and my vision for this blog.

First things first. Who the hell is TrueDevill33? Well my name is Clayton. I’m 26 years old and married to my beautiful wife Brianne (really outkicked my coverage with her) and we have a beautiful 6 month old daughter Ava. We live in Arizona where I was born and raised and where I became a big Arizona State fan (I’m a Sun Devil man!!! If you don’t love Jerry Maguire please stop reading). I work for a startup tech company out of Indiana called Scale Computing and would love to talk to any IT directors or managers out there (shameless plug over).

Alright let’s talk about my GD life and history. I have been playing this game since I was 16. I have 152 seasons under my belt and have had a team in every world at least once. I have a 1,520-618 (.711) record, 27 CC’s and a big fat goose egg for NC’s. I have gone through many stages of life while playing this game. I started off as a brand new coach at the age of 16 with no idea what I was doing and I tried to learn from my buddy Airraiddevil, who was also new and had no idea what he was doing. This was not a recipe for success. I pushed through and being GD stupid I asked a lot of questions and worked my way up. As soon as I thought I had the game down I went to college. I was partying way too much and would wake up feeling like death was standing over me and then try to recruit. This also was not a great formula for success. In my adult life I felt like I finally had time to really learn this game and dedicate time and thought to getting better… then I got married… then I had a kid… Needless to say I have failed and failed and failed at this game, time and time again, but here I am still working towards that NC. A true glutton for punishment.

So why should you read this? This blog is not meant to be an advice column. I will never try to breakdown exactly how to beat pete_61 or discuss what Awags is doing differently than everyone else and how to copy it. I may talk about the all pass offense and beat a dead horse even more into the ground. On second thought we will leave the dead horse alone - it has suffered enough. What I will do is try to make this a fun blog where I will discuss different things going on in Wilkinson. I will talk about recruiting, I will talk about top teams and coaches, playoffs, coaching changes etc. etc. I will not be giving the same analysis of these topics that you already find on Wilkinson central. For example, when I write the recruiting piece I’m not just going to rank the classes. I will take a look at who did what, who surprised us, who to look out for in 3-4 seasons, what great coach really flopped and discuss why certain teams and coaches seem to do better at recruiting. I plan on taking a different look at topics and show you a different point of view of what’s going on in Wilkinson. This blog will never be just rankings and predictions. Hopefully this blog also makes you laugh. I’m not the best writer, there will be grammar and probably spelling errors, but I am a sarcastic asshole with a sense of humor. At least I have something going for me!

If this sounds like something interesting to you, check back soon to read my take on recruiting and discussion of some interesting results in this last recruiting cycle.

May your schedule forever be filled with wins! (If you scheduled Sacred Heart it will be).

TrueDevil33


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page